COVID-19 Updates

Visit UC San Diego's Coronavirus portal for the latest information for the campus community.

Health Sciences Faculty Equity Committee

The Health Sciences Faculty Equity Committee (HS FEC) was established in 2004. The committee is comprised of senior faculty from divisions and departments in the School of Medicine and the Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences. Members of this committee are charged with overseeing faculty equity (gender, race/ethnicity, and salary). Health Sciences FEC members are actively engaged in the annual review of Health Sciences Faculty Demographics and trends, strategic initiatives that promote faculty diversity, faculty development programs at UC San Diego, and the comprehensive review of the HS Faculty Climate Survey and make action plan recommendations and other serve functions as needed.

+ Expand All


  • Review faculty demographics and climate data and disseminate
  • Advisory group for action plans related to demographics and climate data
  • Recommendations for awards and leadership development opportunities
  • Salary equity
  • Annual review strategic plan for the Health Sciences Office of Faculty Affairs
  • 1 meeting/year in the fall quarter and ad hoc committee work as requested
  • Happy Araneta, PhD, MPH
  • Kim Barrett, PhD
  • Lauren Brookman-Frazee, PhD
  • Luis Castellanos, MD, MPH
  • Andrea LaCroix, PhD
  • Elena Martinez, PhD
  • Candis Morello, PharmD, CDE
  • Marc Norman, PhD
  • Renate Pilz, MD
  • Vivian Reznik, MD
  • Andrew Ries, MD, MPH
  • JoAnn Trejo, PhD, MBA
  • Adriana Tremoulet, MD
  • Debbie Wingard, PhD
Show additional content areas below