COVID-19 Updates

Visit UC San Diego's Coronavirus portal for the latest information for the campus community.

Pathology Residents and Fellows

Fourth Year Residents


Dena Khaefpanah, MD




Chace Moleta, MD, MS
cmoleta@health.ucsd.edu

Daniel Stefanko, MD, PhD
dstefanko@health.ucsd.edu






Third Year Residents


Anne Bartels, MD
abartels@health.ucsd.edu

River Charles, MD

rcharles@health.ucsd.edu


Hana Russo, MD, PhD
hrusso@health.ucsd.edu

Wai Szeto, MD

wszeto@health.ucsd.edu


Second Year Residents


Andreas Ciscato, MD
aciscato@health.ucsd.edu

Elham Hatami, MD

ehatami@health.ucsd.edu


Matt Zabel, MD
mzabel@health.ucsd.edu

Mitchell Zhao, MD

m3zhao@health.ucsd.edu


​Connor Zuraski, MD
czuraski@health.ucsd.edu

First Year Residents


Reyhan Ertekin, MD
rertekin@health.ucsd.edu

Kari Hird, MD

khird@health.ucsd.edu


Forough Sargolzaeiaval, MD
fsargolzaeiaval@health.ucsd.edu

Hailee St. Louis, MD

hstlouis@health.ucsd.edu


             Stanton Vincent, DO

svincent@health.ucsd.edu




Cytopathology


Hermineh Aramin, MD
Cyopathology Fellow
haramin@health.ucsd.edu

Gastrointestinal/Liver Pathology


Alexander Placek, MD
GI/Liver Pathology Fellow
alplacek@health.ucsd.edu

Hematopathology 


Carlos Casiano, MD
Hematopathology Fellow
ccasiano@health.ucsd.edu

Molecular Genetic Pathology


Nicholas Bevins, MD, PhD
Molecular Genetic Pathology Fellow
nbevins@health.ucsd.edu

Neuropathology


Melanie Estrella, MD, PhD
Neuropathology Fellow
mfestrella@health.ucsd.edu

Surgical Pathology


Mariah Leivo, MD
Surgical Pathology Fellow
mleivo@health.ucsd.edu


Breast/GYN Pathology



Sherin Hashem, MD
Breast/GYN Pathology Fellow
​s1hashem@health.ucsd.edu


Clinical Chemistry


​Kyle Lund, MD
Clinical Chemistry Fellow
​kylund@health.ucsd.edu


Past Fellows

  • Maha Alkhawaja
  • Pamela Archuletta
  • David Azar
  • Kyle Backer
  • David Carr
  • Stephen Castro
  • Nandkishor Chindarkar
  • Nicholas Coley
  • Vipulkumar Dadhania
  • Qian Dai
  • Christina DiLoreto
  • Michelle Don
  • Ian Dryden
  • Jae Elkind
  • Diane Fernandez
  • Esha Gollapalle
  • Chelsea Gracia
  • Vanessa Goodwill
  • Rebecca Johnson
  • Bradley Hayward
  • Jingjing Hu
  • Christine Kim
  • Caleb King
  • Peter Kobalka
  • Vera Krol
  • Kevin Lee
  • Brett Lowenthal
  • Karra Muller
  • Luan Nguyen
  • Martin Powers
  • Niloufar Reisian
  • Theera Rojanapremsuk
  • Juan Rong
  • Nemencio Ronquillo
  • Megan Rust
  • Daryoush Saeed-Vafa
  • Christine Salibay
  • Alec Saitman
  • Dasan Schmitt
  • Richard Scuderi
  • Breland Smith
  • Vivian Snyder
  • Phillip Sobolesky
  • William Swalchick
  • Ghassan Tranesh
  • Ling Wang
  • Lawrence Willes
  • Scott Wolfe
  • Richard Wong
  • Jane Yang
  • Somaye Zare