COVID-19 Updates

Visit UC San Diego's Coronavirus portal for the latest information for the campus community.


Program Co-Directors

Dr. Paul Insel and Dr. Neil Chi are the MST Program Co-Directors. Paul Insel, M.D., is a Distinguished Professor of Pharmacology and Medicine. Neil Chi, M.D./Ph.D., is a Professor of Medicine. Drs. Insel and Chi oversee all aspects of the MSTP.

Associate Directors

Dr. Christopher Glass is an MST Program alumnus. He is a Professor of Cellular and Molecular Medicine and Medicine and is widely recognized for his research on the regulation of transcription. 

Dr. Mary Lewinski is an Associate Professor of Medicine in the Division of Infectious Diseases and Global Public Health and is the Chair of the MSTP Admissions Committee. She is also an alumna of the UCSD MSTP. She interacts closely with Drs. Insel and Chi, MSTP Staff, and the SOM Admissions Committee in the admissions and recruitment processes.

Dr. Lori Wan is a Clinical Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics and Director of the Academic Community in which MSTP students reside. She monitors the didactic efforts of trainees and advises them regarding academic and non-academic issues, clinical opportunities, residency applications and careers. Dr. Wan is also the Director of the Medicine-Pediatrics Residency Program.

Assistant Directors

Dr. Rafael BejarDr. Nicole CoufalDr. Aaron CarlinDr. Jeff Gold and Dr. Michael Lam are all alumni of the UCSD MSTP and are the faculty mentors of each "Sib-Tree." Thus, each has mentoring efforts with 20% of the MSTP cohort (i.e., approximately 20 trainees each), organizes activities with their respective Sib-Tree, and meets individually with trainees in their House.

MST Program Management

Jacqueline Azize-Brewer, Ph.D. is the MST Program Manager. Her office is located in the School of Medicine, MSTP Office Suite, Medical Teaching Facility, Room 182. You can contact Jacquie by phone at 858-534-0689, and by email at  

Manny Roman is the MST/SURF Program Coordinator. Their office is located in the School of Medicine, MSTP Office, Medical Teaching Facility, Room 182. You can contact Manny by phone at 858-822-5631, and by email at

MSTP Representatives

Dr. Neal Swerdlow is the MSTP representative on the Hillcrest campus. He is a Program alumnus and is a Professor of Psychiatry. His office is located in the Clinical Teaching Facility, Room # B-420 (CTF is at UCSD Hillcrest). 

Dr. Jesse Dixon is the MSTP representative at the Salk Institute for Biological Sciences. He earned his M.D. and Ph.D. (Biomedical Sciences) from UC San Diego. 

Dr. Evan Snyder is the MSTP representative at Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute (SBP). He is Professor of the Human Genetics Program, the Sanford Children's Health Research Center, and the Center for Genetic Disorders and Aging Research. He is the Director of the Center for Stem Cells and Regenerative Medicine and the Stem Cell Training Program. He received his MD/PhD from the University of Pennslyvania MSTP.

Dr. Jeffrey Kelly is the MSTP representative at Scripps Research. He is a Professor of Chemistry. He earned his Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry from the Unviersity of North Carolina.