COVID-19 Updates

Visit UC San Diego's Coronavirus portal for the latest information for the campus community.

Department of Surgery Faculty Members

Name Title Division Contact
Abbadessa, Ben, MD Assistant Professor of Surgery Colorectal Surgery babbadessa@ucsd.edu
Alksne, John, MD Emeritus Professor Neurosurgery jalksne@ucsd.edu
Al-Nouri, Omar, MD, Associate Professor Vascular and Endovascular Surgery oalnouri@ucsd.edu
Amy Liepert, MD Associate Professor of Clinical Surgery aliepert@ucsd.edu
Baird, Andrew, PhD Professor In Residence Trauma, Surgical Critical Care, Burns and Acute Care Surgery anbaird@ucsd.edu
Bandyk, Dennis F., MD Professor In Residence Vascular and Endovascular Surgery dbandyk@ucsd.edu
Barba, David, MD Clinical Professor Neurosurgery dbarba@ucsd.edu
Barleben, Andrew, MD Assistant Clinical Professor Vascular and Endovascular Surgery abarleben@ucsd.edu
Baumgartner, Joel, MD Associate Professor of Clinical Surgery Surgical Oncoloy j1baumgartner@ucsd.edu
Ben-Haim, Sharona, Assistant Professor of Surgery Neurosurgery
Berndtson, Allison, MD Assistant Clinical Professor Trauma, Surgical Critical Care, Burns and Acute Care Surgery aberndtson@ucsd.edu
Berumen, Jennifer, MD Assistant Clinical Professor Hepatobiliary & Transplant Surgery jberumen@ucsd.edu
Bickler, Stephen, MD Clinical Professor Pediatric Surgery sbickler@ucsd.edu
Blair, Sarah, MD Professor Of Clinical Surgical Oncoloy slblair@ucsd.edu
Bouvet, Michael, MD Professor Surgical Oncoloy mbouvet@ucsd.edu
Brumund, Kevin, MD Associate Clinical Professor Otolaryngology kbrumund@ucsd.edu
Califano, Joseph, MD Professor Otolaryngology jcalifano@ucsd.edu
Cauvi, David Mario, PhD Project Scientist Trauma, Surgical Critical Care, Burns and Acute Care Surgery dcauvi@ucsd.edu
Chen, Yuan, PhD Professor Surgical Oncology
Cheverie, Joslin, MD Assistant Professor of Surgery Minimally Invasive Surgery jcheverie@ucsd.edu858-657-8860
Ciacci, Joseph, MD Clinical Professor Neurosurgery jciacci@ucsd.edu
Clary, Bryan, MD Department Chair Surgical Oncoloy bclary@ucsd.edu
Coffey, Charles, MD Associate Clinical Professor of Surgery Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery
Coletta, Joelle, MD Associate Clinical Professor Cardiothoracic Surgery jcoletta@ucsd.edu
Cosman, Bard, MD Professor Of Clinical Colorectal Surgery bcosman@ucsd.edu
Costantini, Todd, MD Associate Professor of Surgery Trauma, Surgical Critical Care, Burns and Acute Care Surgery tcostantini@ucsd.edu
De Maio, Antonio, PhD Professor Trauma, Surgical Critical Care, Burns and Acute Care Surgery ademaio@ucsd.edu
Deconde, Adam, MD Associate Clinical Professor of Surgery Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery adeconde@ucsd.edu
Dobke, Marek, MD, PhD Professor Plastic Surgery mdobke@ucsd.edu
Doucet, Jay, MD Chief / Professor Of Clinical Trauma, Surgical Critical Care, Burns and Acute Care Surgery jdoucet@ucsd.edu
Easter, David, MD Senate Emeritus Surgical Oncology easter@ucsd.edu
Eisenstein, Samuel, MD Assistant Clinical Professor Colorectal Surgery eisenstein@ucsd.edu
Eliceiri, Brian, PhD Professor Trauma, Surgical Critical Care, Burns and Acute Care Surgery beliceiri@ucsd.edu
Fairbanks, Timothy, MD Associate Clinical Professor Pediatric Surgery tfairbanks@ucsd.edu
Gilani, Sapideh, MD Associate Professor Otolaryngology sagilani@ucsd.edu
Godat, Laura , MD, FACS Assistant Clinical Professor Trauma, Surgical Critical Care, Burns and Acute Care Surgery lgodat@ucsd.edu
Golts, Eugene, MD Associate Clinical Professor Cardiothoracic Surgery egolts@ucsd.edu
Gosman, Amanda, MD Chief, Clinical Professor Plastic Surgery agosman@ucsd.edu
Gramins, Daniel, MD Associate Clinical Professor Cardiothoracic Surgery dgramins@ucsd.edu
Greene, Jacqueline, MD Assistant Professor Head & Neck Surgery
Grunvald, Eduardo , MD Clinical Professor Minimally Invasive Surgery egrunvald@ucsd.edu
Harris, Jeffrey, MD, PhD Professor Otolaryngology jpharris@ucsd.edu
Hom, David, MD Professor of Surgery, Otolaryngology Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery Otolaryngology (Head and Neck Surgery) dbhom@ucsd.edu
Horgan, Santiago, MD Professor of Clinical Surgery Minimally Invasive Surgery shorgan@ucsd.edu
Hosseini, Ava, MD Assistant Professor Surgical Oncology Avhosseini@ucsd.edu
Howe, Steven, MD Associate Clinical Professor Cardiothoracic Surgery schowe@ucsd.edu
Jacobsen, Garth, MD Professor of Clinical Surgery Minimally Invasive Surgery gjacobsen@ucsd.edu
Jamieson, Stuart, MD Professor Cardiothoracic Surgery sjamieson@ucsd.edu
Jessica Weaver, Assistant Professor in Residence jlweaver@ucsd.edu
Kari, Elina, MD Assistant Professor of Surgery Otology, Neurotology Skull-Base Surgery Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery ekari@ucsd.edu858-657-5379
Keithley, Elizabeth M., PhD Professor of Surgery Otolaryngology
Kelly, Kaitlyn, MD Assistant Clinical Professor Surgical Oncoloy k6kelly@ucsd.edu
Khalessi, Alexander, MD Chief of Neurosurgery Neurosurgery akhalessi@ucsd.edu
Kingston, Paul, MD Academic Coordinator Anatomy pkingston@ucsd.edu
Kisseleva, Tatiana, MD Associate Adjunct Professor Hepatobiliary & Transplant Surgery tkisseleva@ucsd.edu
Kling, Karen, MD Clinical Professor of Surgery Pediatric Surgery kkling@ucsd.edu
Kobayashi, Leslie, MD Associate Professor Of Clinical Trauma, Surgical Critical Care, Burns and Acute Care Surgery lkobayashi@ucsd.edu
Lance, Samuel, MD Associate Physician Plastic Surgery shlance@ucsd.edu
Lane, John, MD Professor of Clinical Sugery Vascular and Endovascular Surgery j1lane@ucsd.edu
Lazar, David, MD Assistant Clinical Professor of Surgery Pediatric Surgery dlazar@ucsd.edu
Lee, Jeanne, MD Clinical Professor Trauma, Surgical Critical Care, Burns and Acute Care Surgery jgl003@ucsd.edu
Levy, Mike , MD, PhD Professor of Clinical Surgery Neurosurgery mlevy@ucsd.edu
Lopez, Nicole, MD Associate Physician Colorectal Surgery elopez@ucsd.edu
Lowy, Andrew M., Chief of the Division of Surgical Oncology and Professor of Surgery Surgical Oncoloy alowy@ucsd.edu
Madani, Michael , MD Chief of Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery Division / Professor Of Surgery Cardiothoracic Surgery mmadani@ucsd.edu
Magit, Anthony, MD Clinical Professor Otolaryngology amagit@ucsd.edu
Malas, Mahmoud, MD Professor of Surgery and Chief Vascular and Endovascular Surgery mmalas@ucsd.edu858-246-2839
Marshall, Lawrence, MD Emeritus Professor Neurosurgery lfmarshall@ucsd.edu
Mekeel, Kristin, MD Interim Chief, Professor of Clinical Surgery Hepatobiliary & Transplant Surgery kmekeel@ucsd.edu
Nguyen, Andrew, MD, PhD Associate Clinical Professor Neurosurgery adnguyen@ucsd.edu
Nguyen, Quyen T., MD, PhD Professor of Surgery Otolaryngology q1nguyen@ucsd.edu
Nigro, John, MD Clinical Professor of Surgery Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery jnigro@ucsd.edu
Olson, Scott, MD Associate Clinical Professor Neurosurgery seolson@ucsd.edu
Onaitis, Mark, MD Associate Professor Cardiothoracic Surgery monaitis@ucsd.edu
Ongkeko, Rutherford, MD, PhD Associate Adjunct Professor Otolaryngology rongkeko@ucsd.edu
Orosco, Ryan K. , MD Assistant Professor in Residence Otolaryngology (Head and Neck Surgery) rorosco@ucsd.edu
Owens, Erik, MD Clinical Professor Vascular and Endovascular Surgery eowens@ucsd.edu
Pannell, J. Scott, MD Assistant Professor of Surgery & Radiology / Neurointerventional Radiologist Neurosurgery
Parekh, Justin , MD Assistant Professor of Clinical Surgery / Director for Transplant Quality Hepatobiliary & Transplant Surgery
Parry, Lisa, MD Assistant Clinical Professor Colorectal Surgery lparry@ucsd.edu
Perricone, Anthony, MD Clinical Professor Cardiothoracic Surgery perricone@ucsd.edu
Pollema, Travis, MD Assistant Clinical Professor Cardiothoracic Surgery tpollema@ucsd.edu
Pretorius, Gert, MD Associate Clinical Professor Cardiothoracic Surgery gpretorius@ucsd.edu
Ramamoorthy, Sonia, MD Chief of the Division of Colon and Rectal Surgery / Professor Of Surgery Colorectal Surgery sramamoorthy@ucsd.edu
Rapaport, David, PhD Emeritus Professor Anatomy rapaport@ucsd.edu
Rechnic, Mark, MD Associate Physician Plastic Surgery mrechnic@ucsd.edu
Ryan, Allen, PhD Emeritus Professor Otolaryngology aryan@ucsd.edu
Saenz, Nicholas, MD Clinical Professor Pediatric Surgery nsaenz@ucsd.edu
Sandler, Bryan, MD Associate Clinical Professor Minimally Invasive Surgery bsandler@ucsd.edu
Sara Higginson, MD Assistant Clinical Professor s2higginson@ucsd.edu
Schnickel, Gabriel , MD Associate Professor of Surgery Surgical / Director, Liver Transplantation Hepatobiliary & Transplant Surgery gschnickel@ucsd.edu
Sicklick, Jason, MD Associate Professor of Surgery Surgical Oncoloy jsicklick@ucsd.edu
Suliman, Ahmed, MD Associate Clinical Professor Plastic Surgery asuliman@ucsd.edu
Taylor, William, MD Clinical Professor Neurosurgery wtaylor@ucsd.edu
Tenenhaus, Mayer, MD Clinical Professor Plastic Surgery tenenhaus@ucsd.edu
Thangarajah, Hari, MD Assistant Clinical Professor Pediatric Surgery hthangarajah@ucsd.edu
Thistlethwaite, Patricia, MD Professor Cardiothoracic Surgery pthistlethwaite@ucsd.edu
Tung, Howard, MD Associate Physician Diplomate Neurosurgery
Vahabzadeh, Andrew-Hagh, MD Assistant Clinical Professor of Surgery Otolaryngology / Head and Neck Surgery
Veerapong, Jula, MD Associate Clinical Professor of Surgery Surgical Oncoloy
Wallace, Anne, MD Professor Of Clinical Surgical Oncoloy amwallace@ucsd.edu
Watson, Deborah , MD Professor Of Clinical Otolaryngology dewatson@ucsd.edu
Weisman, Robert, MD Recall Faculty Otolaryngology
Weissbrod, Philip, MD Associate Clinical Professor of Surgery Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery pweissbrod@ucsd.edu
White, Rebekah , MD Associate Professor Surgical Oncoloy rewhite@ucsd.edu
Whitehead, Mark , PhD Professor Anatomy mcwhitehead@ucsd.edu
Woolf, Nigel, ScD Professor Emeritus Anatomy nwoolf@ucsd.edu
Zettner, Erika M., PhD Clinical Professor Otolaryngology ezettner@ucsd.edu