Faculty List

​AuD Faculty come from UC San Diego's departments of surgery and neurosciences, as well as from private practice and the VA San Diego Healthcare System.

Erika M. Zettner, PhD
Full-time Audiology Faculty
Program Co-Director. Coordinates academic and clinic placements at UCSD. Supervises AuD students at Perlman Center and teaches courses. Areas of specialization include diagnostic audiology, electrophysiology and otoac​​oustic emissions as well as treatments including amplification, tinnitus treatments and cochlear implants.
E-mail: ezettner@ucsd.edu
Meghan Spriggs, AuD
Full-time Audiology Faculty

Assistant Clinical Professor: teaches AuD courses at UCSD and clinical supervisor for AuD students at Perlman Center. Areas of specialization include cochlear implants, BAHA, adult diagnostic audiology, amplification.
E-mail: mspriggs@ucsd.edu
Jeffery Harris, MD, PhD
Part-time Audiology Faculty

Professor & Chairman of Head and Neck Surgery. Teaches the Otology Preceptorship course where AuD students receive training in clinical otology, pre/post-operative assessment of patients, pharmacology related to otology, and clinical assessment of patients with balance disorders at the UCSD Ear Center.
E-mail: jpharris@ucsd.edu
Allen Ryan, PhD
Part-time Audiology Faculty
Research in Auditory Neuroscience and Otology, including studies of the development of the auditory and vestibular systems, especially molecular control of sensory cell and neuronal maturation in the inner ear. Guest lectures in AuD courses in auditory/vestibular physiology and supervises AuD students during lab rotation and/or doctoral projects.
E-mail: afryan@ucsd.edu
Wian
Debbie Wian, MA
Part-time Audiology Faculty

Audiologist at UCSD since 1997. Provides clinical supervision for AuD students in the areas of hearing assessment and hearing aid fittings.
E-mail: dwian@ucsd.edu
Harris
Genevieve Harris, MA
Part-time Audiology Faculty
Audiologist at UCSD since 1991. Provides clinical supervision for AuD students in the areas of hearing assessment and hearing aid fittings.
E-mail: gnharris@ucsd.edu
Eric Viirre, MD, PhD
Part-time Audiology Faculty

Maintains a medical neurotologic practice at UCSD. Specializes in vestibular disorders and tinnitus treatments. Provides clinical preceptorship instruction and research opportunities for AuD students.
E-mail: eviirre@ucsd.edu
Quyen Nguyen, MD, PhD
Part-time Audiology Faculty

Neurotologist at UCSD. Specializes in exostosis, middle ear disorders, single-sided deafness, Meniere's disease and acoustic neuromas. Lectures for the AuD program at UCSD. Director of the Facial Palsy Clinic at UCSD. Provides research mentorship for AuD students.
E-mail: quyennguyen@ucsd.edu