COVID-19 Updates

Visit UC San Diego's Coronavirus portal for the latest information for the campus community.

Overview of the Department of Surgery

The Department of Surgery is comprised of 13 Divisions overseen by the Chair and the Central Business Office. The Department's central nervous system is the Executive Committee, which makes all major decisions regarding recruitment, program development, promotions, resource allocation, and budget planning.

The 13 divisions of the Department embrace a culture of innovation and collaboration, which has resulted in such breakthroughs as:

  • The first transoral appendectomy performed in the United States
  • The first transvaginal sleeve gastrectomy
  • Pioneered NOTES procedures
  • Ex vivo liver resection and reimplantation
  • Cytoreduction and HIPEC
  • Awake brain surgery
  • Established the Center for the Future of Surgery as a Level I ACS Accredited Education Institute

Since its inception in June 1965, the Department of Surgery has played a major role in student teaching throughout all four years of the medical school curriculum. It has internship and residency programs in seven specialties and is actively involved with continuing education for surgeons and physicians, both locally and nationally. In addition, the Department has developed productive research programs in a wide variety of fields.

Our Mission

  • To deliver comprehensive, quality patient care that is responsive to the needs of the San Diego region as a whole and of the local community.
  • To provide training and education for physicians and allied health professionals.
  • To expand medical knowledge through clinical and basic science research.