Research Council

Purpose of the Research Council

To identify and advocate for the needs of basic and clinical research faculty, including resources, infrastructure, partnerships and recruitment of new faculty members.


The mission of the research council is to enhance the excellence and public health impact of Research Programs of the UCSD Department of Psychiatry by:
  • conceptually organizing and prioritizing areas of research to guide collaborative, multidisciplinary, and translational research, and focus faculty recruitment efforts;
  • facilitating cross-campus and cross-institute collaborative projects;
  • identifying opportunities to increase research funding.


Cutting edge, innovative, multidisciplinary, and translational research conducted by Psychiatry faculty will enhance our understanding of the biological and behavioral bases of normal and abnormal brain function, including their interactions with environmental factors.

Organization of the Research Council:

The chairs of the research council are the Vice Chairs for Basic and Clinical Research (currently Abraham Palmer and Murray Stein). Faculty members of all levels are invited to serve on the research council for 2-year terms, members rotate on and off at the end of each academic year. Members are expected to attend the monthly meetings as often as possible. Research faculty who are not on the council can still submit their concerns and suggestions to the chairs or to any member. Carla Ingle is the administrative contact for the Research Council.

How to become a member of the Research Council:

Interested faculty should email the chairs to express their interest in joining. New members are chosen each fall.

Faculty Members of the Research Council 2016-2017

  • Murray Stein, MD, MPH, Co-Chair
  • Abraham Palmer, PhD, Co-Chair
  • Gregory Aarons, PhD
  • Savita Bhakta, MD
  • Mark Bondi, PhD
  • Kristin Cadenhead, MD
  • Robert Clark, PhD
  • Lisa Eyler, PhD
  • Mark Geyer, PhD
  • Jay Giedd, MD
  • Tiffany Greenwood, PhD
  • Suzie Hong, PhD
  • Dilip Jeste, MD
  • Lilia lakoucheva, PhD
  • Terry Jernigan
  • William Kremen, PhD

  • Greg Light, PhD
  • Mark Mayford, PhD
  • Michael McCarthy, MD, PhD
  • Caroline Neivergelt
  • William Perry, PhD
  • Jonathan Sebat, PhD
  • Neal Swerdlow, MD, PhD
  • Susan Tapert, PhD
  • Charles Taylor, PhD
  • Elizabeth Twamley, PhD
  • Christina Wierenga, PhD
  • Xianjin Zhou, PhD
  • Igor Grant, MD, Ex Officio
  • Robert Anthenelli, MD, Ex Officio
  • Bob Heaton, PhD, Ex Officio
  • Mike Bloom, Ex Officio