Welcome to the University of California, San Diego (UCSD) Department of Psychiatry. We are a diverse community of faculty, staff, and trainees dedicated to an important mission More...

Prospective Applicants learn more about our Education and Training Programs.

Upcoming Events

In the News

Researchers at University of California San Diego School of Medicine, with international colleagues, examined how policy reform in terms of drug decriminalization (in Mexico) and access to drug treatm ...

​Features Thomas Marcotte, PhD

SF Gate

​Cites research by UC San Diego School of Medicine

Orange Register

​Features UC San Diego Center for Medicinal Cannabis

Alzheimer’s disease is a progressive, neurodegenerative condition that often begins with mild cognitive impairment (MCI), making early and repeated assessments of cognitive change crucial to diagnosis ...
Researchers at University of California San Diego School of Medicine are preparing a first-of-its-kind, multidisciplinary investigation to determine if and how cannabidiol, a non-psychoactive compound ...
In recent years, researchers have firmly established that gene mutations appearing for the first time, called de novo mutations, contribute to approximately one-third of cases of autism spect ...

Recent Announcements & Recognitions

K Thomas

Congratulations to Kelsey Thomas, PhD, a Neuropsychology Postdoctoral Fellow, for being awarded a 3 year, $175,000 fellowship from the San Diego/Imperial Chapter of the Alzheimer’s Association!

Judy E. DavidsonJudy E. Davidson, DNP, RN, FCCM, FAAN, a nurse scientist at UC San Diego Health, is quoted in an article, "Nurse Suicide is Real. Don't Ignore It." Click here for the article.

Michael Langley-DeGrootCongratulations to Michael Langley-DeGroot, a third year Psychiatry Resident, for receiving the 2018 AAP Resident Psychiatric Educator Award!

Matthew Klein, MD, PhDCongratulations to Matthew Klein, MD, PhD, a Research Track Resident, for receiving the 2018 NIMH Outstanding Resident Award AND the 2018 APA Research Colloquium Travel Award!

Endowed Chair Awards
Congratulations to Psychiatry faculty honored at the Endowed Chair Investiture Celebration on May 21, 2018.

Spot Awardees

Congratulations to the Spot Awardees of the Department of Psychiatry Clinical Services’ Division! Read More...

View More Recent Recognitions