COVID-19 Updates

Visit UC San Diego's Coronavirus portal for the latest information for the campus community.

Desiree Shapiro Awarded Laughlin and PRITE Fellowships

Desiree ShapiroDesiree was selected for the two prestigious honors the The American College of Psychiatry awards each year for the most outstanding residents nationally. The first, the Laughlin Fellowship, is awarded to 10-12 residents from an elite pool of US and Canadian Residents on the basis of demonstrated leadership in education, clinical work, scholarship and community service as well as potential to make an impact on the field. The second, the PRITE Fellowship, is awarded to 4 residents (2 General and 2 Child) to participate on the PRITE Editorial Board on the basis of demonstrated leadership and potential as educators.

Desiree earned her medical degree from UCSD and she completed her adult psychiatry training at UCSD. She is now is Executive Chief Fellow for the UCSD Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Fellowship. She was a member of the 2014 Mind Games Team representing UCSD at the APA Annual Meeting. Desiree has been involved with organized medicine at local, state, and national levels throughout her training. She is past president of the American Psychiatric Leadership Fellows where she sat on the APA's Board of Trustees. She has conducted research projects with UCLA's Neuroengineering Summer Research Training Program, UCSF's Department of Psychiatry, and UCSD's Division of Preventive Medicine. She is very passionate about education, training, and promoting wellness.