UCSD's Child & Adolescent Psychiatry Fellowship Training Program is based at Rady Children's Hospital in San Diego, which is the largest children's hospital in California. The primary objective of our residency training program is to train academically knowledgeable, clinically astute and caring child and adolescent psychiatrists.

More about our program


The Child & Adolescent Psychiatry Division takes great pride in our fellows and provides fellows with excellent training with rotations in inpatient, outpatient, consultation-liaison, community psychiatry, emergency psychiatry and crisis intervention, juvenile forensics, school, addiction, child abuse, development and infant psychiatry, telepsychiatry and eating disorder treatment programs. We participate in the NRMP Match, and we accept applications through the Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS). We hope our website helps with your questions. If you would like further information please don't hesitate to contact the coordinator Linda Young at lyoung@rchsd.org or directly at (858) 966‒7759.

Important Dates

March 2019 Critical Issues in Child and Adolescent Mental Health Conference
October 01, 2018Application Deadline
October 22-27, 2018 AACAP 2018 Annual Meeting

coworkers at computer 

Recent Awards and Publications

  • Jeff Max MD: “Magnetoencephalography and Neurobehavioral Outcome of Pediatric Traumatic Brain Injury.” Principal Investigator for 1R-01 HD088438-01A1 Grant. Funded 3/10/17 through 2/28/22. $3,074,664 (Prospective study of children with mild to severe traumatic brain injury versus children with orthopedic injury) NICHD
  • Greg Aarons, PhD:  John R. Raymond Mentor Award; Women Scholars Initiative, Medical University of South Carolina
  • Bagot KS, Wu R, Cavallo D, Krishnan-Sarin S. Pain measures in adolescent smokers: minimal tobacco deprivation and acute abstinence. Addict Behav 2017;(67):79-85.
  • Bagot KS. Making the Grade: Adolescent Prescription Stimulant Use. JAACAP; in press.
  • Jason Schweitzer MD American Psychiatric Association Public Psychiatry Fellow 2014-2016
  • Desiree Shapiro, MD, Laughlin Fellowship 2016, American College of Psychiatry
  • Hannah Sweet, MD, AACAP Educational Outreach Program award
  • Sarah Chung, MD, AACAP Educational Outreach Program award
  • Sabrina Renteria, MD, AACAP Educational Outreach Program award