COVID-19 Updates

Visit UC San Diego's Coronavirus portal for the latest information for the campus community.

Psychiatry Education & Training


To develop, coordinate and integrate the highest caliber multi-disciplinary education and training in the clinical care and scientific investigation of mental illness, and more broadly, in the study of behavior and its biological and psychological underpinnings.


The PET Council will enhance the coordination, efficiency and quality of the Department of Psychiatry’s education and training, develop new opportunities for collaborations with positive “multiplier” effects on scientific and funding resources, promote the integration of clinical and scientific training in a thoughtful and consistent manner, advance diversity and help develop a more cohesive and collegial Departmental identity around a shared core educational mission.

Faculty Members of the Education and Training Council 2020- 2021 
  • Neal Swerdlow, MD, PhD, Chair
  • Gregory Light, PhD, Deputy Vice Chair
  • Jeff Daskalakis, MD, PhD, Ex Officio
  • Leslie Anderson, PhD 
  • Dewleen Baker, MD
  • Kristin Beizai, MD
  • Savita Bhakta, MD
  • Lauren Brookman-Frazee, PhD
  • Sandra J. Brown, PhD 
  • Kristin Cadenhead, MD
  • Natalie Castriotta, PhD
  • Sarah Carreira, MD
  • Mariana Cherner, PhD
  • Kelly Courtney, PhD
  • Davide Dulcis, PhD
  • Adam Fields, PhD
  • Lisa Glassman, PhD
  • Shah Golshan, PhD
  • Suzi Hong, PhD
  • Steve Huege, MD
  • Jennifer Iudicello, PhD
  • Amy Jak, PhD
  • Janis Jenkins, PhD
  • John Kelsoe, MD

  • Steve Koh, MD, MBA, MPH
  • Vanessa Lauzon, MD
  • Laurie Lindamer, PhD
  • Larry Malak, MD
  • Carla Marienfeld, MD
  • Arpi Minassian, PhD
  • Lama Muhammad, MD
  • Tanya Nguyen, PhD
  • Caroline Nievergelt, PhD
  • Yuliana Noniyeva, PhD 
  • Priti Ojha, MD
  • Abraham Palmer, PhD
  • Barton Palmer, PhD
  • Vicky Risbrough, PhD
  • Marc Schuckit, MD
  • Desiree Shapiro, MD
  • Shawn Sidhu, MD
  • Alexandra Sietsma, NP
  • Andrea Spadoni, PhD
  • Pei-an (Betty) Shih, MPM, PhD
  • Murray Stein, MD, MPH
  • Susan Tapert, PhD

Program Representatives of the Council of Trainees 2020 - 2021
  • Hewa Artin, MD
  • Einat Brenner, MS
  • Samantha Chalker, PhD
  • Sarah Graham, PhD
  • Lisa Graves, PhD
  • Margie Hernandez, MS
  • Mariam Hussain, PhD
  • Skylar Kelsven, MS 
  • Shelley Kind, MS
  • Kayla Knopp, PhD
  • April May, MA
  • Jackie Maye, PhD
  • Tyler Morrison, MD
  • Katie Panza, PhD
  • Courtney Simpson, PhD
  • Ema Troyer, MD