COVID-19 Updates

Visit UC San Diego's Coronavirus portal for the latest information for the campus community.


Welcome to the University of California, San Diego (UCSD) Department of Psychiatry. We are a diverse community of faculty, staff, and trainees dedicated to an important mission More...

Prospective Applicants learn more about our Education and Training Programs.

Upcoming Events

In The News

American Association for the Advancement of Science honors the contributions of UC San Diego leaders in astrophysics, research advocacy, organic chemistry, psychiatry and geophysics.
UC San Diego was the first university in California to connect 40,000 student health records to the electronic health record platform of its top-ranked academic medical center, UC San Diego Health. Th ...
Seeking to develop effective interventions, researchers at University of California San Diego School of Medicine examined the psychological and environmental factors that lead to patterns of lonelines ...
In a recent study, researchers at University of California San Diego School of Medicine found a seventh component of wisdom: spirituality.

Recent Announcements & Recognitions

Zafiris "Jeff" Daskalakis, MD, PhD, FRCP(C) On October 22, 2020, the Department celebrated the Grant family and the new chair and inaugural holder of the Dr. Igor and JoAnn Grant Endowed Chair in Psychiatry - Zafiris "Jeff" Daskalakis, MD, PhD, FRCP(C). Watch Video of Event here and learn more about the history of the Psychiatry Department here.

Desiree Shapiro, MDWith the support of a $4 million grant from UnitedHealth Group, the University of California San Diego has launched a four-year program to expand and diversify the pipeline of child and adolescent psychiatrists in California.
Learn More...

Victoria Merritt, MDCongratulations to Dr. Victoria Merritt on receiving the Early Career Award from the National Academy of Neuropsychology. This award is designed for someone who is within 10 years of receiving their doctoral degree and who has made substantial early career service contributions to NAN and the field of neuropsychology in general.

Monica Castillo, MD, MSCongratulations to Monica Castillo, MD, MS, a PGY-1 Research Track Resident, for being selected as a 2020 Travel Awardee for ACNP! Dr. Castillo was selected from over 260 applicants for this prestigious award! The College has extended the travel award benefits to attend the 2021 Annual Meeting in San Juan Puerto Rico next year due to this year's meeting being virtual.

Monica Federoff, MD, PhDMonica Federoff, MD, PhD, a PGY-3 Psychiatry Research Track Resident, was selected to receive the 2020 NIMH Outstanding Resident Award. This award is given each year to a select group of Psychiatry Residents with outstanding achievements in basic and clinical research. Monica will be invited to attend a "remote" NIMH conference this Fall and to present a "virtual" poster of her research. Congratulations, Monica!

View More Recent Recognitions