COVID-19 Updates

Visit UC San Diego's Coronavirus portal for the latest information for the campus community.

Clinical Council

Welcome to the Department of Psychiatry. The department has been at the forefront of psychiatric care for decades. We welcome your interest in our exceptional department, our clinical programs and our faculty of outstanding and compassionate clinicians.


To better the lives of patients and families affected by mental illness through providing state-of-the-art, evidence-based, personalized, and compassionate mental health care.


  • To establish and support treatments that optimizes a person’s physical, emotional, and psychological well-being.
  • To become the national and international destination of choice for patients and families seeking mental health treatment.
  • To become a leader in clinical and translational psychiatry by linking research into the causes, treatment, and prevention of mental illness to innovative clinical care while training the next generation of outstanding practitioners and investigators.

Faculty Members of the Clinical Council 2017-2018

  • David Folsom, MD, Co-Chair
  • William Perry, PhD, Co-Chair
  • Jeff Anderman, MBA
  • Robert Anthenelli, MD
  • Anne Bird, MD
  • Sandy J Brown, PhD
  • Kristin Cadenhead, MD
  • Nancy Craney
  • Chris Cribari
  • Nancy Downs, MD
  • Vincent Filoteo, PhD
  • Jay Giedd, MD
  • Igor Grant, MD
  • David Grelotti, MD
  • Robert Heaton, PhD
  • Jeremy Hirst, MD
  • Alece Hon
  • Steve Huege, MD
  • Valeri Ivanov
  • Pat Judd, PhD
  • Walter Kaye, MD
  • Steve Koh, MD, MPH, MBA
  • Vanessa Lauzon, MD
  • Larry Malak, MD
  • Carla Marienfeld, MD
  • Ben Maxwell, MD
  • Arpi Minassian, PhD
  • Heline Mirzakhanian, PhD
  • Marc Norman, PhD
  • Alison Reminick, MD
  • Neil Richtand, MD, PhD
  • Terry Schwartz, MD
  • Daniel Sewell, MD
  • Louisa Steiger, MD
  • Murray Stein, MD, MPH
  • Neal Swerdlow, MD, PhD
  • Maria Tiamson-Kassab, MD
  • Marie Webber, MHSA
  • Raisa Yagudayeva, MD
  • Sid Zisook, MD