Macrophage in Liver

January 2019

Alexandra Newton, PhD is featured in "Just in Time for the New Year: How to Live Longer (if You're a Cancer Cell)."

December 2018

Jack Dixon, PhD is featured in "JUST THE FAQS: Enzyme Fam20C's Role in Heart Disease."

November 2018

Tannishtha Reya, PhD is featured in "Stand Up To Cancer Grant Funds UC San Diego Health Research in Pancreatic Cancer."

Jerold Chun, MD, PhD is featured in "HIV drugs may help people with Alzheimer's and Down syndrome, says new hypothesis on Alzheimer's origins."

October 2018
J. Silvio Gutkind, PhD and Anjana Rao, PhD are featured in"La Jolla Institute Receives $4.5 Mill Cancer Moonshot Award."

Jin Zhang, PhD and Sohum Mehta, PhD are featured in "10 Years Later: How Nobel Laureate Roger Tsien's Legacy Lives On."    

September 2018
JoAnn Trejo, PhD is featured in "How Cells Repurpose their Garbage Disposal Systems to Promote Inflammation."

Michael Karin, PhD is featured in "Caspase-2 Enzyme Inhibition Shows Promise for Ameliorating Fatty Liver Disease."

J. Silvio Gutkind, PhD's recent work was highlighted by the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research.  

January 2018
Richard Daneman, PhD was awarded the 2018 Division for Neuropharmacology -- Early Career Independent Investigator Award from ASPET. This award recognizes Dr. Daneman's important discoveries that have changed the understanding of the blood-brain barrier.

December 2017
JoAnn Trejo, PhD was named the 2017 E. E. Just Lecturer by the ASCB. The award recognizes outstanding scientific achievement by an underrepresented minority scientist. 

Tannishtha Reya, PhD was awarded a 2017 UC Drug Discovery Consortium seed grantThis cross-campus initiative, funded by the Office of the President through an MRPI award, aims to advance drug discovery capabilities and success at the University of California.

November 2017
Shabnam Shalapour, PhD and Michael Karin, PhD are featured in "How Chronic Inflammation Tips the Balance of Immune Cells to Promote Liver Cancer."

August 2017
Richard Daneman, PhD was named to the 2017 class of Rita Allen Foundation Scholars, he was also designated as the Milton E. Cassel Scholar for this year's class, a special honor.  Dr. Daneman was also awarded a 2017 Klingenstein-Simons Neuroscience Fellowship.

July 2017
CONGRATULATIONS to Robert Tukey, PhD (Director) and the UCSD Superfund Research Center on receiving renewed funding for the next five years! The funding from NIEHS, a part of the NIH, will ensure the center continues its multidisciplinary research to study the impact of environmental toxicants on human health. 

Mohit Jain, PhD was awarded the2017 NIEHS Outstanding New Environmental Health Sciences (ONES) award.    

June 2017
Kun-Liang Guan, PhD was featured in "Vivace Uncloaks with $40M, U.S.-China Backing for Cancer Trials

May 2017
Zhenyu Zhong, PhD from Karin Lab was awarded the Prevent Cancer Foundation Board of Directors Research Fund Award from thePrevent Cancer Foundation for his obesity-related cancer prevention research.   

April 2017
Varnavas Mouchlis, PhD from Dennis Lab was awarded the Wiley Computers in Chemistry Outstanding Postdoc Award at the recent 253rd American Chemical Society National Meeting

February 2017

The Salk Institute, La Jolla announces Tony Hunter, PhD has been awarded one of the inaugural Sj√∂berg Prize for Cancer research  

Robert Tukey, PhD and ShuJuan Chen, PhD were featured in "Severe Newborn Jaundice Could be Preventable, Mouse Study Shows"

January 2017

Joan Heller Brown, PhD was awarded the Otto Krayer Award in Pharmacology by ASPET. 

Paul A. Insel, MD was awarded theDavid Lehr Research Award by ASPET.

Jerold J. Chun, PhD accepted a new faculty position with Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute