COVID-19 Updates

Visit UC San Diego's Coronavirus portal for the latest information for the campus community.

The Department of Pharmacology is a leading center for research and training in the discipline of pharmacology, and is renowned for its strength in defining basic cellular and molecular mechanisms of signal transduction, elucidating molecular structure and function, and using computational science to translate basic knowledge into drug discovery relevant to treatment of cancer, cardiovascular and neurological diseases.


U.S. News & World Report 
has ranked UC San Diego's
Department of Pharmacology
in the top 5 in Best Global Universities for Pharmacology and Toxicology since 2017

Our department has consistently ranked 2nd or 3rd  amongst other Pharmacology departments in total NIH funding throughout the last decade.



Cutting-edge seminars are hosted almost every Tuesday in the UC San Diego Department of Pharmacology.  

November 23, 2021

Justin English, PhD
University of Utah
“Directed Evolution of GPCR Signaling Systems”
12:00p - Leichtag 107 &
Optional Webinar Registration


November 30, 2021

Katerina Akassoglou, PhD
“Neurovascular interactions: Mechanisms, Imaging, therapeutic”
12:00p Virtual Only      

Webinar Registration


December 7, 2021

Nathanael Gray, PhD
Stanford University
"Challenges and Opportunities in Targeted Protein Degradation"
12:00p - Leichtag 107 &
Optional Webinar Registration


Complete 2021 Fall Seminar Schedule 


In the News

October 2021

Please join us in congratulating Professor JoAnn Trejo, PhD for being elected to the National Academy of Medicine (NAM). Election to the Academy is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.

UC SAN DIEGO HEALTH NEWSROOM: “Looking Beyond DNA to See Cancer with New Clarity,” features J. Silvio Gutkind, PhD

UC SAN DIEGO HEALTH NEWSROOM: “Spinach reduces colon cancer risk: Study explores how,” Medical News Today, features Pieter Dorrestein, PhD

UC SAN DIEGO HEALTH NEWSROOM Blog: “Sweet Death,” features Michael Karin, PhD


September 2021

Molecular Pharmacology & Drug Discovery Research Area Orientation
Poster Session
Leichtag Lawn
September 20, 2021 3-4 p.m.

Leichtag Family Foundation Biomedical Sciences Building