COVID-19 Updates

Visit UC San Diego's Coronavirus portal for the latest information for the campus community.

Chief Residents AY 2021-2022

UC San Diego's Department of Pediatrics has three Chief Residents for the 2021-2022 academic year – Drs. Varsha Gupta, Ann MacQuarrie, and Stephanie Schmitt. 

The chief resident year is an additional year dedicated to working with the administration and the residents to improve the program, resident education, and resident well-being. 

Varsha Gupta, MD

Hometown: Fremont, CA 
Undergraduate: UCLA 
Medical School: Case Western Reserve University SOM
Future Plans: Primary Care

Ann MacQuarrie, MD

Hometown: Helena, MT
Undergraduate: Montana State University - Bozeman
Medical School: U of Washington 
Future Plans: Primary Care

Stephanie Schmitt, MD

Hometown: Chicago, IL
Undergraduate: Wellesley College 
Medical School: Rush Medical College 
Future Plans: Palliative Care 

Show additional content areas below