UCSD Respiratory Medicine Fellows

Current Fellows and Research Projects

First Year:
Amanda Khoury, M.D.
                       Residency: University of California, San Diego, Pediatrics
                       Medical School: University of Utah, Salt Lake City, Utah

Second Year:
Danielle Munce, M.D.                                                                                
                       Residency: University of California, San Diego, Medicine-Pediatrics
                       Medical School: University of California, San Diego

Richard Wong, D.O.
Residency: University of Oklahoma- Tulsa School of Community Medicine, Pediatrics
Medical School: Touro University Nevada College of Osteopathic Medicine

​Positions of Former Fellows

1. Kathyn Akong, MD, PhD, 2012. Associate Professor of Pediatrics, UCSD. 
2. Mindy Ross, MD, MBA, 2013.  Assistant Professor of Pediatrics, UCLA. 
3. Matejka Cernelc-Kohan, MD, 2014. Assistant Professor of Pediatrics, UCSD. 
4. Taylor Inman, MD, 2016.  Staff pulmonologist, Balboa Naval Medical Hospital, San Diego.
5. Marilynn Chan, MD, 2017.  Assistant Professor of Pediatrics, UCSF.
6. Divya Chhabra, MD, 2017.  Assistant Professor of Pediatrics, National Jewish Center, Denver, CO.
7. Elizabeth Duong, MD, 2018.  Assistant Professor of Pediatrics, with research focus, UCSD.  
8. Ruth Siew, MD 2019, Medical staff physician with research focus, UCSD.  
9. Chelsea Gatcliff, MD 2020, Assistant Professor of Pediatrics, University of Texas
10. Manju Hurvitz, MD 2021, Staff pulmonologist, Balboa Naval Medical Hospital, San Diego.

Past Fellowship Research Projects

1. Kathryn Akong, MD, PhD – Host defense and neutrophil nets in pneumonia and cystic fibrosis. 
Mentor: Dr. Victor Nizet.
2. Matejka Cernelc-Kohan, MD – Role of extracellular vesicles in phenotypic alteration in lung fibrosis. 
Mentor: Dr. Jim Hagood.
3. Mindy Ross, MD – Use of bioinformatics to distinguish asthma phenotypes. 
Mentor: Dr. Lucila Ohno-Machado.      
4. Taylor Inman, MD – Role of continuous glucose monitoring in cystic fibrosis related diabetes. 
Mentor: Dr. Carla Demeterco.
5. Divya Chhabra, MD - Sex differences in DNA methylation during alveolar development.
Mentor: Dr. Jim Hagood.
6. Marilynn Chan, MD - Differential methylation patterns in the developing lung.
Mentor: Dr. Bing Ren.
7. Elizabeth Duong, MD - Single cell analysis of cell types critical to lung development. 
Mentor: Dr. Kun Zhang.
8. Ruth Siew, MD -  The role of bicarbonate in cystic fibrosis pseudomonas lung infections. 
Mentor: Dr. Victor Nizet.
9. Chelsea Gatcliffe, MD -  Evaluation of the Respiratory Tract Immune Response in Pediatric Patients with Chronic Aspiration
Mentor: Dr. David Dimmock 
10.  Manju Hurvitz, MD - Improving bipap adherence in neuromuscular disease
Mentor: Dr. Rakesh Bhattacharjee

Notable Fellow Awards and Grants

  • Pediatric Scientist Development Program – Marilynn Chan, 2014; Elizabeth Duong, 2015.
  • NIH Loan Repayment Program – Elizabeth Duong, 2016; Ruth Siew, 2017.
  • NIH T32 Pediatric Clinical Pharmacology – Ruth Siew, 2017.
  • American Thoracic Society Assembly on Pediatrics Scientific Abstract Award, Divya Chhabra, 2018.  
  • Respiratory Disease Young Investigators’ Forum Poster Award – Elizabeth Duong, 2018

Show additional content areas below