Neurosciences Faculty

UC San Diego’s Department of Neurosciences is among the nation’s largest and represents a breadth of disciplines and specialties spanning neurosciences research as well as adult and child neurology. The interaction between clinicians and translational scientists assists in cross-fertilization of ideas that push the envelope of science related to patient care and that advance understanding of nervous system function in health and disease.

Name Title Division Contact
Agrawal, Kunal HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES kuagrawal@ucsd.edu619-543-7760
Albright, Thomas D Adjunct Professor PSYCHOLOGY talbrigh@ucsd.edu858-453-4100
Ansari, Hossein HS Associate Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES hoansari@ucsd.edu858-657-8540
Baldwin, Kristin Associate Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES kkbaldwin@ucsd.edu
Banks, Sarah Associate Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES sbanks@ucsd.edu 
Blesch, Armin Professor in Residence NEUROSCIENCES ablesch@ucsd.edu
Brewer, James Brian Professor/Chair NEUROSCIENCES jbrewer@ucsd.edu858-534-9434
Brown, Timothy Assistant Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES ttbrown@ucsd.edu858-822-1769
Bui, Jonathan D HS Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES jdbui@ucsd.edu858-822-6700
Callaway, Edward M Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES ecallaway@ucsd.edu
Checkoway, Harvey Adjunct Professor FAMILY MEDICINE AND PUBLIC HEALTH hcheckoway@ucsd.edu858-822-0159
Chen, Dillon Y. HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES dyc017@ucsd.edu858-966-5819
Chen, Xu Assistant Professor NEUROSCIENCES x1chen@ucsd.edu 858-822-1025
Chun, Jerold J.M. Adjunct Professor PHARMACOLOGY jchun@ucsd.edu858-784-8410
Cleveland, Don W Professor CELLULAR & MOLECULAR MEDICINE dcleveland@ucsd.edu858-534-7811
Cline, Hollis Tremaine Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES hcline@ucsd.edu
Corey-Bloom, Jody Professor Emeritus NEUROSCIENCES jcoreybloom@ucsd.edu858-246-1288
Coughlin, David HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES dacoughlin@ucsd.edu858-657-8540
Courchesne, Eric Professor NEUROSCIENCES ecourchesne@ucsd.edu858-534-6914
Crawford, John Ross Professor of Clinical NEUROSCIENCES jrcrawford@ucsd.edu858-966-5819
Dale, Anders M Professor NEUROSCIENCES amdale@ucsd.edu858-822-6671
Daneman, Richard Assistant Professor PHARMACOLOGY rdaneman@ucsd.edu858-822-2376
Delaney, Patrick A HS Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES pdelaney@ucsd.edu619-543-6266
Desplats, Paula Associate Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES pdesplats@ucsd.edu858-822-3182
Devor, Anna Associate Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES adevor@ucsd.edu858-232-9940
Dunn-Pirio, Anastasie HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES adunnpirio@ucsd.edu858-605-4447
Edland, Steven D. Adjunct Professor FAMILY MEDICINE AND PUBLIC HEALTH sedland@ucsd.edu858-246-1250
Ellis, Ronald Joseph Professor in Residence NEUROSCIENCES roellis@ucsd.edu619-543-5079
Ellisman, Mark H Professor NEUROSCIENCES mellisman@ucsd.edu858-534-2251
Evans, Ronald M Adjunct Professor CELL & DEVELOPMENTAL BIOLOGY rmevans@ucsd.edu858-453-4100
Evans, Sean J HS Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES sevans@ucsd.edu858-657-8540
Feldman, Howard Professor NEUROSCIENCES howardfeldman@ucsd.edu858-246-1347
Ferrey, Dominic Alexander HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES dferrey@ucsd.edu619-543-3500
Filoteo, Julian Vincent Adjunct Professor PSYCHIATRY vfiloteo@ucsd.edu858-249-1748
Friedman, Jennifer Rebecca HS Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES jrfriedman@ucsd.edu858-966-5819
Gage, Fred H Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES fgage@ucsd.edu858-453-4100
Galasko, Douglas R Professor in Residence NEUROSCIENCES dgalasko@ucsd.edu858-246-1240
Gertsch, Jeffrey Hill HS Associate Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES jgertsch@ucsd.edu
Gleeson, Joseph Gerard Professor NEUROSCIENCES jogleeson@ucsd.edu858-246-0524
Gold, Jeffrey Joseph HS Associate Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES jjgold@ucsd.edu
Goldstein, Lawrence S.B. Professor CELLULAR & MOLECULAR MEDICINE lgoldstein@ucsd.edu858-534-9702
Gonzalez Gonzalez, Cynthia HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES cyg007@ucsd.edu619-543-6291
Gonzalez, Hector M. Associate Professor NEUROSCIENCES hmg002@ucsd.edu
Graves, Jennifer Associate Professor NEUROSCIENCES jgraves@ucsd.edu858-246-2384
Grundman, Michael Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES mgrundman@ucsd.edu
Gruol, Donna Associate Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES gruol@scripps.edu(858) 784-7060
Guido-Estrada, Natalie Mar HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES nguidoestrada@ucsd.edu858-966-5819
Gundogdu, Betul M. HS Associate Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES bgundogdu@ucsd.edu619-543-5300
Haas, Richard Professor NEUROSCIENCES rhaas@ucsd.edu858-822-6700
Haddad, Gabriel G Adjunct Professor PEDIATRICS ghaddad@ucsd.edu858-822-4740
Halgren, Eric Professor RADIOLOGY ehalgren@ucsd.edu858-822-0762
Hemmen, Thomas M HS Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES themmen@ucsd.edu619-543-7760
Hillyard, Steven A Professor Emeritus NEUROSCIENCES shillyard@ucsd.edu858-534-2385
Hnasko, Thomas Scott Associate Professor NEUROSCIENCES thnasko@ucsd.edu858-822-0672
Hook, Vivian Adjunct Professor SCHOOL OF PHARMACY vhook@ucsd.edu858-822-6682
Iragui-Madoz, Vicente J Professor Emeritus NEUROSCIENCES viragui@ucsd.edu858-657-6080
Isaacson, Jeffry Seth Professor NEUROSCIENCES jisaacson@ucsd.edu858-822-3525
Jablecki, Charles Assistant Physician NEUROSCIENCES ckjablecki@ucsd.edu
Jeste, Dilip V Adjunct Professor PSYCHIATRY djeste@ucsd.edu858-534-4020
Jin, Yishi Adjunct Professor NEUROBIOLOGY yijin@ucsd.edu858-534-7754
Jindal, Anuja Vora HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES avjindal@ucsd.edu
Kansal, Leena R HS Associate Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES lkansal@ucsd.edu858-657-6080
Karanjia, Navaz P HS Associate Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES nkaranjia@ucsd.edu619-543-6291
Karten, Harvey J Professor Emeritus NEUROSCIENCES hjkarten@ucsd.edu858-534-4938
Khalessi, Alexander Adjunct Professor SURGERY akhalessi@ucsd.edu619-543-5540
Khoromi, Suzan HS Associate Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES skhoromi@ucsd.edu
Kim Mcmanus, Olivia Sungji HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES okimmcmanus@ucsd.edu
Kinkel, Revere Philip Professor of Clinical NEUROSCIENCES rkinkel@ucsd.edu619-543-3500
Kleschevnikov, Alexander Assistant Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES akleschevnikov@ucsd.edu
Komiyama, Takaki Professor NEUROSCIENCES tkomiyama@ucsd.edu858-534-4654
Konersman, Chamindra HS Associate Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES ckonersman@ucsd.edu858-642-3685
Koo, Edward H Professor Emeritus NEUROSCIENCES edkoo@ucsd.edu858-822-1024
Kritchevsky, Mark Professor NEUROSCIENCES mkritche@ucsd.edu858-552-8585
Kutas, Marta Adjunct Professor COGNITIVE SCIENCE mkutas@ucsd.edu858-534-7450
Labuzetta, Jamie Nicole HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES jlabuzetta@ucsd.edu
Lee, David Jin HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES djl036@ucsd.edu858-657-6080
Leger, Gabriel HS Associate Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES gleger@ucsd.edu858-246-2539
Lemke, Greg E Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES glemke@ucsd.edu
Lessig, Stephanie L HS Clinical Professor/Vice Chair NEUROSCIENCES slessig@ucsd.edu858-249-0856
Lipton, Stuart A Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES slipton@ucsd.edu858-657-8540
Litvan, Irene Professor NEUROSCIENCES ilitvan@ucsd.edu
Lu, Pengzhe Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES plu@ucsd.edu
Malinow, Roberto Professor NEUROSCIENCES rmalinow@ucsd.edu858-246-0274
Martone, Maryann E Professor Emeritus NEUROSCIENCES mmartone@ucsd.edu
Mayford, Mark Richard Adjunct Professor PSYCHIATRY mmayford@ucsd.edu
McGehrin, Kevin Associate Physician NEUROSCIENCES kmcgehrin@ucsd.edu 
Mellon, Pamela L Professor DEP. OF REPRODUCTIVE MEDICINE pmellon@ucsd.edu858-534-1312
Meyer, Brett Cowan Professor of Clinical NEUROSCIENCES bcmeyer@ucsd.edu619-543-6867
Meyer, Dawn Matherne HS Associate Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES dmmeyer@ucsd.edu619-543-2871
Mobley, William Charles Professor NEUROSCIENCES wmobley@ucsd.edu858-534-9434
Modir, Royya HS Associate Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES rmodir@ucsd.edu858-657-7190
Mulligan, Caitlin HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES camulligan@ucsd.edu 858-657-8540
Murphy, Elizabeth Assistant Physician NEUROSCIENCES eareed@ucsd.edu
Nelson, James Erskin HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES jenelson@ucsd.edu
Nespeca, Mark Peter HS Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES mnespeca@ucsd.edu
Nissinen, Janne Kristoffer Assistant Physician NEUROSCIENCES knissinen@ucsd.edu
Norbash, Alexander Adjunct Professor RADIOLOGY anorbash@ucsd.edu
Northcutt, Richard G Professor Emeritus NEUROSCIENCES rgnorthcutt@ucsd.edu
Perkins, Guy Professor Emeritus NEUROSCIENCES gperkins@ucsd.edu
Pfaff, Samuel Adjunct Professor NEUROBIOLOGY sapfaff@ucsd.edu
Piccioni, David Associate Professor of Clinical NEUROSCIENCES dpiccioni@ucsd.edu
Pierce, Karen L Professor in Residence NEUROSCIENCES kpierce@ucsd.edu858-534-6919
Ravits, John M Professor of Clinical NEUROSCIENCES jravits@ucsd.edu858-246-1154
Reynolds, John Associate Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES jhreynolds@ucsd.edu
Rho, Jong Professor NEUROSCIENCES jrho@ucsd.edu858-822-5861
Rich, Jeremy Naftali Professor MEDICINE jerich@ucsd.edu
Rismanchi, Neggy HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES nrismanchi@ucsd.edu
Rissman, Robert A Associate Professor In Residence NEUROSCIENCES rrissman@ucsd.edu858-246-0140
Rosenzweig, Ephron Assistant Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES erosenzweig@ucsd.edu
Roy, Subhojit Professor PATHOLOGY sroy@ucsd.edu(858)534-8857
Sahagian, Michelle L HS Associate Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES msahagian@ucsd.edu858-966-5819
Salmon, David P Professor in Residence NEUROSCIENCES dsalmon@ucsd.edu858-246-1253
Sattar, Shifteh HS Associate Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES ssattar@ucsd.edu
Sejnowski, Terrence J Adjunct Professor NEUROBIOLOGY tsejnowski@ucsd.edu
Shaner, Nathan Associate Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES ncshaner@ucsd.edu858-534-8182
Sharpe, Cynthia Marion Assistant Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES csharpe@ucsd.edu
Shih, Jerry Professor of Clinical NEUROSCIENCES j8shih@ucsd.edu858-657-6080
Shtrahman, Matthew Assistant Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES mshtrahman@ucsd.edu
Siavoshi, Sara HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES ssiavoshi@ucsd.edu
Silva, Gabriel A Adjunct Professor BIOENGINEERING gsilva@ucsd.edu
Soria Lopez, Jose HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES jsorialopez@ucsd.edu858-657-8540
Squire, Larry R. Professor PSYCHIATRY lsquire@ucsd.edu858-642-3628
Stowers-Anderson, Lisa Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES lstowersanderson@ucsd.edu
Tecoma, Evelyn S. Professor Emeritus NEUROSCIENCES etecoma@ucsd.edu858-657-6080
Thomas, Ronald G Adjunct Professor FAMILY MEDICINE AND PUBLIC HEALTH rgthomas@ucsd.edu
Townsend, Phyllis Jeanne Professor Emeritus NEUROSCIENCES jtownsend@ucsd.edu
Trauner, Doris A. Professor Emeritus NEUROSCIENCES dtrauner@ucsd.edu858-822-6700
Tsigelny, Igor F Professor Emeritus NEUROSCIENCES itsigelny@ucsd.edu
Tuszynski, Mark H. Professor NEUROSCIENCES mtuszynski@ucsd.edu858-534-8857
Viirre, Erik Scott Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES eviirre@ucsd.edu
Wagner, Steven L Professor in Residence NEUROSCIENCES slwagner@ucsd.edu858-822-4281
Wright, Brenton Alan HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES b9wright@ucsd.edu
Wu, Chengbiao Associate Adjunct Professor NEUROSCIENCES chw049@ucsd.edu
Yoshii-Contreras, June HS Assistant Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES jyoshiicontreras@ucsd.edu858-657-6080
Zheng, Binhai Professor NEUROSCIENCES bizheng@ucsd.edu858-534-5807
Zimbric, Michael Richard HS Associate Clinical Professor NEUROSCIENCES mzimbric@ucsd.edu
Filter By: Title Division