COVID-19 Updates

Visit UC San Diego's Coronavirus portal for the latest information for the campus community.

UC San Diego Stroke Center

             Picture of Stroke Center Team  

The UC San Diego Stroke Center is a worldwide leader in the development of novel therapeutics and diagnostics for stroke care. UC San Diego was the first to use intravenous tPA for stroke, a treatment developed in the laboratory of Dr. Justin Zivin at UCSD. Our research portfolio continues to expand, and we remain motivated to provide cutting-edge treatments for our patients. We invite you to explore everything our stroke center has to offer!

Current stroke research projects include novel thrombolytic and adjuvant therapies for acute ischemic stroke, anticoagulant use for embolic stroke of undetermined source based on cardiac biomarkers, understanding nuances of management of malignant strokes and intracranial hemorrhage, and development and implementation of a stroke advance directive. Residents and fellows learn state-of-the-art stroke care from leaders in the field and participate in the discovery and development of new treatments for cerebrovascular disease.

The Stroke Program at the University of California San Diego is part of the Department of Neurosciences and the one-year Vascular Neurology Fellowship was accredited by the ACGME in November 2006. Currently, a maximum of four fellows are accepted each year to the fellowship program. Please click on "Vascular Neurology Fellowship" in the above sidebar to learn more about the exciting fellowship curriculum!


  • Thomas Hemmen, MD, PhD, Director, UCSD Stroke Center, Stroke Faculty
  • Brett C. Meyer, MD, Co-Director, UCSD Stroke Center, Stroke Faculty
  • Royya Modir, MD, Associate Director, UCSD Stroke Center, Stroke Faculty
  • Kunal Agrawal MD, Vascular Neurology Fellowship Director, Stroke Faculty
  • Dawn Meyer, PhD, Stroke Faculty
  • Scott E. Olson, MD, Endovascular Neurosurgery
  • Jeffrey (Scott) Pannell, MD, Endovascular Neurosurgery
  • Alexander KhalessiMD, MS, Endovascular Neurosurgery
  • Jeffrey Steinberg, MD, Endovascular Neurosurgery
  • David Santiago-Dieppa, MD, Endovascular Neurosurgery 
  • Navaz Karanjia, MD, Director, Neurocritical Care
  • Cynthia Gonzalez, MD, Neurocritical Care
  • Jamie Labuzetta, MD, Neurocritical Care
  • Brian Lemkuil, MD, Neurocritical Care/Anesthesiology
  • Anushirvan Minokadeh, MD, Neurocritical Care/Anesthesiology

Directly involved hospitals

  • UC San Diego Hillcrest Medical Center
  • UC San Diego Jacobs Medical Center/Sulpizio Cardiovascular Center

Affiliated sites

  • El Centro Regional Medical Center
  • Eisenhower Medical Center
  • Rancho Springs Medical Center
  • Inland Valley Medical Center 
  • San Diego Veterans Affairs (VA) Medical Center


For more information on stroke or stroke prevention, please visit the following links:


Contact Information

Please contact Jennifer Kruse for Stroke Center administrative inquiries:
Phone: (619) 543-7760
Fax: (619) 543-7771