COVID-19 Updates

Visit UC San Diego's Coronavirus portal for the latest information for the campus community.

AVRC Investigators

The faculty and postdoctoral fellows at the AVRC are among the nation's brightest minds in HIV and infectious disease research. Click on any hyperlinked profile to read their full biography. To reach any of our investigators by phone, please call (619) 543-8080 to be connected.


Constance Benson, MD

Constance Benson, MD
Director, UC San Diego AntiViral Research Center
Professor of Medicine
cbenson@health.ucsd.edu

Academic Profile / Clinical Profile

Adriano de Bernardi Schneider, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar
adebernardischneider@health.ucsd.edu

Academic Profile

Ajay Bharti, MD
Assistant Professor
abharti@health.ucsd.edu

Academic Profile / Clinical Profile

Jill Blumenthal

Jill Blumenthal, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
jblumenthal@health.ucsd.edu

Academic Profile / Clinical Profile

Sara Browne, MD
Associate Professor
shbrowne@health.ucsd.edu

Academic Profile / Clinical Profile

Sara Gianella Weibel, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
sgianellaweibel@health.ucsd.edu

Academic Profile

Richard S. Garfein, PhD, MPH
Professor of Medicine
rgarfein@health.ucsd.edu

Academic Profile

Martin Hoenigl, MD
Assistant Research Scientist
mhoenigl@health.ucsd.edu

Academic Profile

Cathy Logan, MD
Assistant Professor
c1logan@health.ucsd.edu

Academic Profile / Clinical Profile

Maile Ann Young Karris, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
m1young@health.ucsd.edu

Academic Profile / Clinical Profile

Scott Letendre, MD
Professor of Medicine
sletendre@health.ucsd.edu

Academic Profile / Clinical Profile

Susan Little, MD
Co-Director, UC San Diego AntiViral Research Center
Professor of Medicine
slittle@health.ucsd.edu

Academic Profile / Clinical Profile

Sepideh Mazrouee, MSc, PhD
Postdoctoral Researcher
smazrouee@health.ucsd.edu

Academic Profile

J. Allen McCutchan, MD, MSc
Professor Emeritus
amccutchan@health.ucsd.edu

Academic Profile / Clinical Profile

Sanjay R. Mehta, MD, DTM&H, D(ABMM)
Assistant Professor of Medicine
srmehta@health.ucsd.edu

Academic Profile / Clinical Profile

Sheldon Morris, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor
shmorris@health.ucsd.edu

Academic Profile / Clinical Profile

Douglas Richman, MD
Professor
drichman@health.ucsd.edu

Academic Profile

Robert T. Schooley, MD
Professor of Medicine
rschooley@health.ucsd.edu

Academic Profile / Clinical Profile

Britt Skaathun, PhD, MPH
Postdoctoral Scholar
bskaathun@health.ucsd.edu

Academic Profile

Davey Smith, MD, MAS
Professor of Medicine
davey@health.ucsd.edu

Academic Profile

Gabriel Wagner, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
gawagner@health.ucsd.edu

Academic Profile / Clinical Profile

Nadir Weibel, PhD
Assistant Research Professor
weibel@ucsd.edu

Academic Profile

Joel Wertheim, PhD
Assistant Professor of Medicine

jwertheim@health.ucsd.edu

Academic Profile


Darcy Wooten, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine

dawooten@health.ucsd.edu

Academic Profile / Clinical Profile