COVID-19 Updates

Visit UC San Diego's Coronavirus portal for the latest information for the campus community.

Division Contact Information

​Nephrology Clinics
​Division Mailing Address

​Appointments Tel: 619.543.6397
Fax: 619.543.3511
Fax (Transplant Nephrology): 858.587.6680
Medical Records Tel: 619.543.6704

​Division of Nephrology-Nypertension
UC San Diego Health
200 West Arbor Drive MC 8409
San Diego, CA 92103

​Leadership



  • Division Chief, Nephrology-Hypertension
  • Vice Chair for Strategic Affairs, Department of Medicine
  • Medical Director, Sanderling Dialysis Center
Joachim H. Ix, M.D., MAS, FASN
Professor of Medicine
ixoffice@health.ucsd.edu  



  • ​Clinical Service Chief, Nephrology-Hypertension       
  • Associate Dean for Continuing Medical Education and Faculty Teaching Development
  • Medical Director, Inpatient Acute Services
  • Medical Director, DaVita Dialysis Center
Scott Mullaney, M.D., MBA
Health Sciences Clinical Professor
smullaney@health.ucsd.edu  



  • Vice Chair, Department of Medicine
Francis Gabbai, M.D.
Professor Emeritus
fgabbai@health.ucsd.edu  




  • Nephrology Section Chief, VA San Diego Health System
Scott Thomson, M.D.
Professor in Residence
sthomson@health.ucsd.edu 



  • ​Program Director, Nephrology Fellowship
  • Director, Medical Education: Clinical Transition Core
  • Renal Clinical Director, VA San Diego Health System
Cynthia Miracle, M.D.
Health Sciences Associate Clinical Professor
cmiracle@health.ucsd.edu  



  • Program Director, Transplant Nephrology Fellowship 
  • Medical Director, Renal Transplant Program
  • Medical Director, Kaiser Permanente Transplant Service
  • Medical Director, Lifesharing: Organ Procurement
Mita Shah, M.D.
Health Sciences Associate Clinical Professor
mshah@health.ucsd.edu  



  • Medical Director, San Diego County Jail Dialysis Center
Dinna Cruz, M.D., MPH
Professor of Clinical Medicine
dncruz@health.ucsd.edu  



  • Program Director, Acute Peritoneal Dialysis
  • Medical Director, Chronic Dialysis
Bethany Karl, D.O.
Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor
bkarl@health.ucsd.edu  



  • Medical Director, ​Kidney Transplant Clinic
  • Medical Director, Outreach Transplant
  • Associate Director, Renal Transplant Program
Adnan Khan, M.D.
Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor
a6khan@health.ucsd.edu  



  • Director, Medical Education: Clinical Foundation
  • Director, Medical Education: Renal II Teaching
Dena E. Rifkin, M.D., M.S.
Associate Adjunct Professor
drifkin@health.ucsd.edu  



  • Medical Director, Chronic Kidney Disease Clinic
Tamara Rubenzik, M.D.
Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor
trubenzik@health.ucsd.edu  


  • ​Medical Director, Apheresis
Amber Sanchez, M.D.
Health Sciences Associate Clinical Professor
a6sanchez@health.ucsd.edu  


  • Medical Director, Nephrology Clinical Services
Natalie Sweiss, M.D., FASN
Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor
nsweiss@health.ucsd.edu  



  • ​Medical Director, Outreach Dialysis
Tyler Woodell, M.D.
Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor
twoodell@health.ucsd.edu  

Administration




  • Division Administrator
Stephanie Thai
Campus Mail Code: 0857
Tel: 858.246.5212
shthai@health.ucsd.edu  



  • Fellowship Program Administrator, Nephrology and Transplant Nephrology
Raeann Miller
Campus Mail Code: 8409
Tel: 619.543.6919
r6miller@health.ucsd.edu  



  • Administrative Coordinator
​Rita Kurtz
Campus Mail Code: 9111-H
Tel: 858.552.7528
rkurtz@health.ucsd.edu  



  • Division Coordinator
Janice Thomas
Campus Mail Code: 8409
Tel: 619.471.0752
jathomas@health.ucsd.edu  



  • Division Coordinator
Ruben Figueroa
Campus Mail Code: 8409
Tel: 619.471.0753
r2figueroa@health.ucsd.edu