COVID-19 Updates

Visit UC San Diego's Coronavirus portal for the latest information for the campus community.

Gabriele Wienhausen

Gabriele Wienhausen Gabriele Wienhausen is the Associate Dean for Education in the Division of Biological Sciences and provides leadership and innovation to the educational mission of the Division, including undergraduate and graduate education, experiential learning programs for students, and outreach programs for executives, K-12 students, and the general public. 

Gabriele Wienhausen was the founding Provost of UCSD’s Sixth College. The theme of the college – Culture, Art and Technology – promotes interdisciplinary thinking, seeing and listening and prepares students for a future that demands creativity, imagination and ethical integrity.

She is the Principal Investigator for the Pacific Rim Experience for Undergraduate Summer Research (PRIME,, an international summer research experience for undergraduate students.

She is the co Principal Investigator Co-PI of the GEAR-UP (Gaining Early Awareness and Readiness for Undergraduate Programs) a comprehensive federal grant to improve academic achievement and increase the college-going rates of Pauma Elementary School and Valley Center High School students in northeast San Diego County.

She is a co-Director and founding Faculty Member in the Doctoral Program in Mathematics and Science Education (, jointly offered by UC San Diego and Cal. State San Diego. Her research focuses on tools that facilitate the understanding of complex biological/scientific processes and concepts.

She is a  founding faculty member in the Education Graduate Program, UC San Diego, which is designed as a professional degree for rising school and postsecondary administrators to develop advanced research and leadership skills related to their own institutional settings; contribute to curriculum development; participate in faculty recruitment;  
Gabriele Wienhausen has won numerous teaching awards including the Academic Senate Distinguished Teaching Award and the Chancellor’s Associate Award.