Faculty Directory

GHI Director


Steffanie Strathdee

Harold Simon Professor of Medicine
Chief, Division of Global Public Health
Associate Dean for Global Health Sciences
Co-Director, International Core of the UCSD Center for AIDS Research (CFAR)

E-mail Address: sstrathdee@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 822-1952(858) 822-1952
Web Page: https://profiles.ucsd.edu/steffanie.strathdee

GHI Co-Directors


Joshua Graff Zivin

Associate Professor of School of Global Policy and Strategy
Research Associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
Research Director for International Environmental and Health Studies at the Institute on Global Conflict and Cooperation (IGCC).

E-mail Address: jgraffzivin@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 822-6438(858) 822-6438
Web Page: http://gps.ucsd.edu/faculty-directory/joshua-graff-zivin.html

Thomas Csordas

Dr. James Y. Chan Presidential Chair in Global Health
Professor and Chair, Anthropology

E-mail Address: tcsordas@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 822-6588(858) 822-6588
Web Page: http://anthropology.ucsd.edu/people/faculty/faculty-profiles/thomas-csordas.html

Participating Faculty


Sameh Ali

Assistant Adjunct Professor, Department of Medicine, Division of Geriatrics
E-mail Address: ssali@ucsd.edu
Phone:(858) 534-7956

Connie Benson

Professor, Medicine
E-mail Address: cbenson@ucsd.edu
Phone: (619) 543-8080
Web Page: https://profiles.ucsd.edu/constance.benson

Prashant Bharadwaj

Assistant Professor of Economics
E-mail Address: prbharadwaj@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858)822-6760

Stephen Bickler

Associate Clinical Professor, Surgery & Pediatrics
E-mail Address: sbickler@ucsd.edu
E-mail Address: kbrouwer@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 822-6467
Web Page: https://profiles.ucsd.edu/kimberly.brouwer

Joseph Caperna

Clinical Professor, Medicine, Owen Clinic
E-mail Address: jcaperna@ucsd.edu
Phone: (619)543-3995
Web Page: http://owenclinic.ucsd.edu/hiv-support/Pages/default.aspx

Mario Chojkier

Professor, Medicine
E-mail Address: mchojkier@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 552-8585
Web Page: http://profiles.ucsd.edu/mario.chojkier

Bruno Cotter

Assistant Clinical Professor, Medicine
E-mail Address: bcotter@ucsd.edu
Phone: (619) 543-8213
Web Page: http://cardiology.ucsd.edu/faculty/Pages/bruno-cotter.aspx

Alberto Diaz-Cayeros

Associate Professor, School of Global Policy and Strategy
E-mail Address: adiazcayeros@ucsd.edu

David Fitzgerald

Associate Professor, Sociology
E-mail Address: dsfitzgerald@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 534-4758
Web Page: http://ccis.ucsd.edu/people/staff/fitzgerald.html

Fonna Forman

Associate Professor of Political Science
E-mail Address: ffb@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 822-3868
Web Page: http://polisci.ucsd.edu/about-our-people/faculty/forman.html

Sheila Gahagan

Division Chief, Professor of Clinical Pediatrics
E-mail Address: sgahagan@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 246-0050
E-mail Address: rgarfein@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 822-3018
Web Page: https://profiles.ucsd.edu/richard.garfein

William Gerwick

Professor, School of Pharmacy/Pharmacological Science
E-mail Address: wgerwick@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 534-0578
Web Page: http://pharmacy.ucsd.edu/faculty/gerwickbio.shtml

David Granet

Clinical Professor, Ophthalmology
E-mail Address: dgranet@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 534-7440
Web Page: http://eyesite.ucsd.edu/faculty/david-granet

Barry Greenberg

Professor, Medicine & Director of Advanced Heart Failure Treatment Program
E-mail Address: bgreenberg@ucsd.edu
Phone: (619) 543-7751
Web Page: http://providers.ucsd.edu/Details/11311

Kenneth Herbst

Clinical Professor, Medicine & Director of Hematology
E-mail Address: kdherbst@ucsd.edu
Phone:(619) 471-0336
Web Page: http://hem-onc.ucsd.edu/faculty/herbst.shtml

Anthony Horner

Associate Adjunct Professor, Medicine
E-mail Address: ahorner@ucsd.edu
Phone:(858) 534-543

Janis Jenkins

Professor, Anthropology
E-mail Address: jhjenkins@ucsd.edu
Phone:(858) 534-6468
E-mail Address: sletendre@ucsd.edu
Phone:(619) 543-8080
Web Page: https://providers.ucsd.edu/details/11337/scott-letendre-hiv_aids-infectious_diseases-san_diego

Gerry Mackie

Associate Professor of Political Science
E-mail Address: gmackie@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 534-7015
Web Page: http://dss.ucsd.edu/~gmackie/

Anthony Martinez

Assistant Clinical Professor, Internal Medicine
E-mail Address: adm003@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 657-8000

Craig McIntosh

Assistant Professor, School of Global Policy and Strategy
E-mail Address: ctmcintosh@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 822-1125

Victoria Ojeda

Assistant Professor, Global Public Health
E-mail Address: vojeda@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 822-6165
Web Page: https://profiles.ucsd.edu/victoria.ojeda

Thomas Patterson

Professor, Psychiatry
E-mail Address: tpatterson@ucsd.edu
Phone:(858) 534-3354
Web Page: http://psychiatry.ucsd.edu/research/Alzcare/Pages/StaffBios.aspx

Keith Pezzoli

Director of Field Research and a Lecturer in the Urban Studies and Planning Program at the University of California, San Diego
E-mail Address: kpezzoli@ucsd.edu

Anita Raj

Professor, Global Public Health
E-mail Address: anitaraj@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 822-0229
Web Page: https://profiles.ucsd.edu/anita.raj

Robin Ryder

Clinical Professor, Medicine
E-mail Address: rryder@ucsd.edu
Phone: (619) 543-5994
Web Page: http://hospitalmedicine.ucsd.edu/people/ryder.shtml

Robert Schooley

Professor, Medicine
E-mail Address: rschooley@ucsd.edu
Phone: (858) 822-0216

Jay Silverman

Professor, Global Public Health
E-mail Address:

Mounir Soliman

Clinical Service Chief of the Department of Psychiatry
E-mail Address: msoliman@ucsd.edu

Shankar Subramaniam

Professor of Bioengineering, Chemistry and Biochemistry, Cellular and Molecular Medicine and Nano Engineering & Chair of the Bioengineering Department at the University of California at San Diego
E-mail Address: shankar@sdsc.edu

Robert Sullivan

Founding dean of UCSD's Rady School of Management
E-mail Address: rssullivan@ucsd.edu

Rolando Viani

Associate Professor of Clinical Pediatrics, Division of Infectious Diseases
E-mail Address: rviani@ucsd.edu
Phone: (619) 471-9177

Joseph Vinetz

Professor, Medicine
E-mail Address: jvinetz@ucsd.edu

Gabriele Wienhausen

Associate Dean for Education in the Division of Biological Sciences
E-mail Address: gwienhausen@ucsd.edu

María Luisa Zúñiga

Associate Professor, School of Social Work, SDSU
E-mail Address: mlzuniga@mail.sdsu.edu