COVID-19 Updates

Visit UC San Diego's Coronavirus portal for the latest information for the campus community.

Infectious Diseases & Global Public Health Faculty and Staff MembersThree Faculty Members of Infectious DIseases & Global Public HealthFaculty Members in the Division of Infectious Diseases and Global Public HealthFaculty Member in Internation Programs of the Division of Infectious Diseases & Global Public Health

The UC San Diego Division of Infectious Diseases and Global Public Health aims to eliminate the burdens of infectious diseases and health disparities by delivering outstanding patient care, conducting world-class multidisciplinary health research, directing the institutional response to antimicrobial resistance, preventable healthcare associated infections, and emerging pathogens, and offering leadership, consultation and training on global public health, gender equity, microbiology, and infectious diseases topics.

About the Division

The divisions of Infectious Diseases and Global Public Health merged into the Division of Infectious Diseases and Global Public Health effective August 1, 2017. Dr. Davey Smith leads the team as Chief of the division. Along with Dr. Smith, the Division of Infectious Diseases and Global Public Health will be led by Dr. Constance Benson as the Vice Chief of Education, Dr. Annie Cowell as the Vice Chief of Clinical Affairs, Dr. Jamila K. Stockman as the Vice Chief of Global Public Health, Dr. Sanjay Mehta as Chief of the VA Infectious Diseases Section, Dr. John Ayers as the Vice Chief of Innovation, and Dr. Laura Bamford as the Director of the Owen Clinic.

ID & GPH Newsletter
Owen Clinic Newsletter
Antimicrobial Stewardship Newsletter
Sign up here to receive the AVRC Newsletter! 

Follow us on Twitter!

Division in the News

To view a list of ongoing research activities related to COVID-19, please click on this link to access the webpage. 

UC San Diego News Center, features Dr. Constance Benson.

Retired Docs, Nursing, Med Students: California Wants You
KPBS, features Dr. Francesca Torriani.

Check out Dr. Davey Smith's Big Picture Science interview, where he talks about how to deal with pandemic fear. To listen to the whole program, click here. To listen to Dr. Davey Smith's interview, click here


We are pleased to announce that Dr. Darcy Wooten is the recipient of a Medicine 401 Excellence in Teaching Award!
This award is given in recognition of outstanding attendings and residents who display exemplary dedication, support, and commitment to educating our third year medical students.

Congratulations to Dr. Sara Gianella Weibel for receiving the Avenir Award from the National Institute on Drug Abuse! This award is granted to early stage investigators who propose highly innovative studies. To read more about this award and Dr. Gianella Weibel's achievement, please click here

We would like to congratulate Dr. Steffanie Strathdee for receiving two awards for an article that was written by Dr. Steffanie Strathdee, Mary Hellyar, Judy Davidson, and Carie Montesa. To access the publication, please click on this link.
Maggie Awards (
AWARD OF EXCELLENCE; Category: Best Feature Article (Circulation over 50,000/Trade); "Power of Family Engagement in Rounds," October 2019 issue
APEX Awards (
AWARD OF EXCELLENCE; Category: Feature Writing; "The Power of Family Engagement in Rounds: An Exemplar With Global Outcomes," October 2019 issue

Congratulations to Dr. Claire Bristow on receiving the Young Investigator Award from the American Sexually Transmitted Diseases Association! The ASTDA Young Investigator Award is presented to a person engaged in outstanding work in the field of sexually transmitted diseases who is no more than seven years from completion of training. To read more about this great achievement, please visit this page.

We would like to congratulate one of our exemplary staff members, Marvin Hanashiro, for receiving the Annual UCSD Inclusive Excellence Award representing the VC Health Sciences team! Please visit this link to view the video that was presented at the 25th Annual Inclusive Excellence Awards Ceremony. Congratulations, Marvin! 

Congratulations to Dr. Annie Cowell for being named the Director of the new Global Health Pathway, starting in July 2020! This pathway is designed for residents who want to learn more about the global aspects of healthcare and/or are interested in pursuing a career in Global Health. To learn more, please click here

Statement of Dedication

We are saddened, horrified and angered by the persistent racially-motivated violence and structural racism in the United States. We forcefully mourn the murders of Ms. Breonna Taylor in Louisville, Kentucky, Mr. George Floyd in Minneapolis, Minnesota, and Mr. Ahmaud Arbery in Satilla Shores, Georgia. These brutal events occurred in the setting of the coronavirus pandemic and subsequent economic downturn, both of which have disproportionately impacted racial and ethnic minorities. 

Thus, We Remain:
  • Committed to use research, clinical care and education to fight back against the structural racism and injustice that leads to the persistent violence and health and economic disparities.
  • Committed to be aware of the injustice and inequality that we encounter, and will address it with all our power to do so.
  • Committed to You the members of our Division. Reach out when you need us, as we remain committed to be stronger together. 
Davey Smith, MD, MAS
Professor and Chief

Constance Benson, MD
Professor and Vice-Chief of Education 
Jamila K. Stockman, PhD
Associate Professor and Vice-Chief of Global Public Health
Randy Taplitz, MD
Professor of Clinical Medicine
Joshua Fierer, MD
Professor and Section-Chief of Infectious Diseases, Veteran Affairs 
John Ayers, PhD
Associate Professor and Vice-Chief of Innovation

Ajay Bharti, MD
Associate Professor and Director of Strategic Initiatives
Darcy Wooten, MD
Associate Professor and Interim Director of Owen Clinic

Sanjay Mehta, MD
Associate Professor and Incoming Section-Chief of Infectious Diseases, Veteran Affairs 
Annie Cowell, MD
Assistant Professor and Vice-Chief of Clinical Medicine
Division of Infectious Diseases and Global Public Health 
University of California San Diego