COVID-19 Updates

Visit UC San Diego's Coronavirus portal for the latest information for the campus community.

UC San Diego Division of Gastroenterology

​Division History

The UC San Diego Gastroenterology Division was founded in the mid-1970s by Henry Wheeler, MD, who served as its first division chief.

Many local San Diego gastroenterologists received their gastroenterology training at UC San Diego. 

Past and Present Division Chiefs​


William Sandborn, MD 
William J. Sandborn, MD
2011 - present
John Carethers, MD 
John M. Carethers, MD
2004 - 2009
C. Richard Boland, MD 
C. Richard Boland, MD
1995 - 2003
Jon Isenberg, MD 
Jon I. Isenberg, MD
1979 - 1993
Henry Wheeler, MD 
Henry Wheeler, MD
mid-1970 - 1978