COVID-19 Updates

Visit UC San Diego's Coronavirus portal for the latest information for the campus community.


In 1968, the Department of Medicine was one of the inaugural departments in the UC San Diego School of Medicine. Eugene Braunwald, MD, was founding Chair. Forty-eight years later, we move ahead with confidence under the leadership of Helen M. Ranney Distinguished Professor and Chair Wolfgang H. Dillmann, MD.

To see a complete timeline of our history, please scroll down.

January 2012

Wolfgang H. Dillmann, MD

Dr. Dillmann appointed
Helen M. Ranney Distinguished Professor and Chair.


July 2010

Wolfgang H. Dillmann, MD

Wolfgang H. Dillmann, MD, becomes Interim Chair.

June 2010

Outgoing Chair Kenneth Kaushansky, M.D., (left) and new Interim Chair Wolfgang Dillmann, MD,

Dr. Ken Kaushansky accepts position as Senior Vice President for Health Sciences and Dean of the School of Medicine at Stony Brook University in New York.
Above, Dr. Kaushansky with Wolfgang H. Dillmann, MD, who becomes Interim Chair upon Dr. Kaushansky's departure in July.



January 2010

Drs. Eugene Braunwald and Kenneth Kaushansky

Founding Department of Medicine Chair Eugene Braunwald, MD, and Chair Ken Kaushansky, MD, MACP on January 10 when Dr. Braunwald visits UC San Diego to present Grand Rounds.

March 2004

First Four Department of Medicine Chairs in 2004

The first four Chairs of the Department of Medicine are photographed together when Dr. Braunwald visits UC San Diego to present Grand Rounds. From the left: Stephen Wasserman, MD, Helen M. Ranney, MD, Eugene Braunwald, MD, and Kenneth Kaushansky, MD, MACP.



Dr. Kenneth Kaushansky.

Kenneth Kaushansky, MD, MACP, becomes Helen M. Ranney Distinguished Professor and Chair.


Dr. Roger Spragg.

Roger Spragg, MD, becomes Interim Chair when Dr. Wasserman steps down.


The Helen M. Ranney Chair in Medicine is established when Dr. Ranney leaves UC San Diego. It is the medical school's first research chair to be named after a professor; the first faculty-funded endowed chair; and the first endowed chair named in honor of a woman professor at UC San Diego.


Stephen Wasserman, MD, becomes Chair.


Dr. Stephen Wasserman

Upon Dr. Helen M. Ranney's retirement, Dr. Stephen Wasserman becomes Interim Chair.


Dr. Helen M. Ranney.

Accepting the position in 1973, Dr. Helen M. Ranney is Chair of Medicine from 1974 until 1986.
(Photo - National Library of Medicine)

Watch a video interview with Dr. Ranney
from the UC San Diego School of Medicine's "Meet Our Founders" series


Dr. Nathan Zvaifler.

Dr. Nathan Zvaifler becomes Interim Chair after Dr. Braunwald accepts a position at the Peter Bent Brigham Hospital of the Harvard Medical School.


The charter class enters the UC San Diego
School of Medicine; the first internal medicine
residency trainees are recruited.
Dr. Braunwald presents the first Medicine Grand Rounds.


Dr. Eugene Braunwald.

Eugene Braunwald, MD, recruited by School of Medicine Dean Clifford Grobstein, is founding chair of the Department of Medicine.