Chair's Message

Since 1966, our Department of Family Medicine and Public Health has had a rich history of leadership and scholarly activities at the intersection of primary care and public health. Our faculty, staff, students, and alumni are engaged in efforts locally, nationally, and globally that improve public health and health care delivery through research, teaching, and clinical care. Learn more


The Wertheim Family Foundation pledges $25 million lead gift towards creating a School of Public Health at UC San Diego. Learn more


View Full Calendar

Faculty Recruitments

Lecturer in Public Health

Associate or Full Professor (Ladder Rank/In Residence) - Health: Policy, Economics, or Services Research Faculty

Assistant Professor (Adjunct, In-Residence) - FMPH - Biostatistics and Bioinformatics

Assistant Professor in the School of Medicine and the Design Lab

Assistant, Associate, or Full Professor (HS Clinical) Family Medicine Clinician

Assistant, Associate or Full Professor (HS Clin, Clin X, Adjunct, In-Residence) - Professor in Public Health

View All Recruitments
(open and recently closed)

Presentations & Publications

Camille Nebeker presented "The Digital Revolution: The Potential Promise and Ethical Perils in Research" as a keynote speaker at the Technology, Mind & Society Conference. Read more 


Jose Suarez cited in study linking hypertension in children and   flower pesticides. Read more 

Photo courtesy of The JPB Environmental Health Fellows Program

Graduate Students on the Move: At the 2018 American Public Health Association annual conference.

Joint Doctoral Program student Lorena Pacheco presented a poster and moderated a Food and Nutrition presentation session. 4th year Medical student Naeemah Munir gave two oral presentations, a poster presentation, and was invited to moderate two other sessions.

Pictured:  Lorena Pacheco, Prof. Maria Rosario (Happy) Araneta, and Naeemah Munir

Dr. Araneta (pictured above) also gave a presentation on December 12 at the Boston University School of Public Health, entitled, "The "Skinny" on Health Disparities among Asian Americans: Biological, Behavioral, and Social Determinants."

Presentations & Publications Archive


Hekler Psychiatry Department working with Dr. William Norcross on pilot test of HEAR Suicide Prevention Initiative, for UC San Diego nurses. Read more

Photo courtesy of Institute for Medical Quality

HeklerEric Leas Featured in article regarding the harsher regulation of marketing for marijuana. Read more

Photo courtesy of

Research Awards Archive

Appointments & Recognition


Congratulations to Dr. Margaret Ryan, who received the F. Marian Bishop Educator of the Year Award, from the Association for Prevention Teaching and Research Read more

Caption: Margaret Ryan, MD, MPH accepting her award from the ​Planning Committee Chair, Billy Oglesby, PhD, MBA, FACHE. Photo credit

Congratulations to our Department’s 2018 “Top Docs!”

Linda Hill, MD, MPH
For Public Health and General Preventive Medicine

David Bazzo, MD
For Sports Medicine

Alan Shahtaji, DO
For Sports Medicine

Kenneth Taylor, MD
For Sports Medicine

Suraj Achar, MD
For Family Medicine

Daniel Slater, MD
For Family Medicine

(Source: San Diego Magazine 2018 “Physicians of Exceptional Excellence” survey)

Appointments & Recognition Archive