Staff Directory

Administrative Services and Business Office


Randy Brooks, MBA

Vice Chair for Administration
rbrooks@ucsd.edu
(858) 534-0510

Administrative, fiscal, and operations oversight


Nina Vo

Senior Faculty Compensation and Operations Analyst
vvo@ucsd.edu
(858) 534-4102

Faculty salary administration, policy, & implementation
Conflict of Commitment & Outside Professional Activities
Supervision of Faculty Administrative Support Personnel
Space Planning


Heather Fagan

Fiscal Director
hfagan@ucsd.edu
(858) 534-5426

Oversight of sponsored projects
Supervision of fiscal personnel
Research Service Core Liaison
Department funding analysis and policies


Melinda Peterson

Financial Analyst
mpederson@ucsd.edu
(858) 822-5869

Extramural pre- and post-award management
Financial analysis, administration, and reporting for extramural funding, consulting, self-supporting units, and education programs.


Maya Franklin

Financial Analyst
mvfranklin@ucsd.edu
(858) 822-4901

Extramural pre- and post-award management
Financial analysis, administration, and reporting for extramural funding, consulting, self-supporting units, and education programs.


Gary Blum

Fiscal Affairs Specialist
gblum@ucsd.edu
(858) 534-6536

Central processing of accounting documents: allocations, travel, reimbursements, deposits, budget adjustment journals, transfers, service agreement invoicing, and monthly accruals
Pre and post award functions
Assists in the preparation of the monthly P&L reports and variance analyses
Backup Department Systems Administrator (DSA): monitoring and granting access to various Business Systems


Mike Davison

Fiscal Assistant
mdavison@ucsd.edu
(858) 534-0507

Central processing of accounting documents: allocations, travel, reimbursements, deposits, budget adjustment journals, transfers, service agreement invoicing, and monthly accruals
Pre and post award functions
Assists in the preparation of the monthly P&L reports and variance analyses Department Systems Administrator (DSA): monitoring and granting access to various Business Systems


Chair's Office


Angela Ballantyne, PhD

Administrative Manager, Director of Internal and External Relations and Academic Strategic Planning
aballantyne@ucsd.edu
(858) 534-8363

Chair's office management 
Strategic planning and project management
Internal and external communications and relations


Kathe Conner

Executive Assistant
kcconner@ucsd.edu
(858) 822-3699

Chair's calendar travel and executive administrative support


Victoria Saddler

Project Coordinator
vsaddler@ucsd.edu
(858) 822-6549

Department meeting and event coordination
IRB chair approval processing
Support to CoE for Health Promotion and Equity
Institute for Public Health – Public Health Research Day and Celebration of Community Events
Department website calendar
Contact for Department listservs for Faculty, Post-Docs, Affiliates & Staff


Sheri Thompson, PhD

Staff Research Associate
skt007@ucsd.edu
(858) 534-8673

Institute for Public Health and education committee support


Faculty Administrative Support


Deb Rubio

Administrative Support (Behavioral Medicine)
darubio@ucsd.edu
(858) 822-6448

Faculty and Division administrative support 
VCA support 
Department facilities support
Department special events
Faculty Candidate Coordination


Nova Barkley

Administrative Support (Preventive Medicine)
nsbarkley@ucsd.edu
(858) 534-3722

Faculty administrative support 
Division administrative support 
Department special events and support


Alan Larson

Program Coordinator in MTF
a7larson@ucsd.edu
(858) 822-1073

Faculty administrative support in MTF
Division administrative support
Department special events and support


Mike Daniels

Program Coordinator in MTF
mrdaniels@ucsd.edu
(858) 534-8488

Faculty administrative support in MTF 
Division administrative support 
Department special events and support


Family Medicine Administration


Katherine MacFarlane, Esq.

Division Administrative Director
kmacfarlane@ucsd.edu
(619) 543-5776

Division of Family Medicine:
Division operations oversight
Strategic planning
Fiscal affairs and faculty compensation
Division personnel supervision


Fletcher Damon

Division Operations Coordinator
fletcherdamon@ucsd.edu
(858) 543-5475

Division of Family Medicine:
Division and faculty administrative support
Faculty Candidate Coordination
Event planning and catering
Hillcrest space Management


Christian Ruiz

Division Clinical Coordinator
cvr006@ucsd.edu
(619) 543-8349

Division of Family Medicine:
Family Medicine Faculty/MSP/staff onboarding & separations
Clinical Orientation schedules (ID, lab coats, pagers, EPIC, DFM, shadowing, ARC, benefits, etc.)
Med Staff privileging Clinical billing packets and Department forms
Leaves (in coordination with ARC)
Clinical reporting
Residency schedules


Daisy Cruz

Staff Research Associate
dacruz@ucsd.edu
(619) 471-9187


Division of Family Medicine:
Main contact for PRIMIER, PCORI and CMMI projects
Coordinator for various research projects, participant recruitment, manuscript preparation, IRB applications and data management


Shuxiang Liu

Division Programmer Analyst
shl042@ucsd.edu

(619) 543-8204

Division of Family Medicine:
Epic clarity data with multiple clarity data model certifications
Division scheduling website and practice-based research programs.


Information Technology


Catina Hyman, MS

Information Systems Analyst
chyman@ucsd.edu
(858) 822-0069

Web development and maintenance
IT/ IS knowledge expert
HS IT Shared Service liaison
Equipment management


Joint Doctoral Program in Public Health (JDP)


Hollie Ward

JDP Coordinator
hward@ucsd.edu
(858) 534-0505

All aspects of Public Health PhD (joint with SDSU) program administration and advising


PHD Program in Biostatistics


Melody Bazyar, MPH

Biostatistics Graduate Program Coordinator
mbazyar@ucsd.edu
(858) 246-2595

All aspects of PhD in Biostatistics program administration and advising
General Biostatistics Divisional Support


Master's Program in Public Health (MPH)


Josh Miller, MA

MPH Program Coordinator
j3miller@ucsd.edu
(858) 534-0094

All aspects of Master in Public Health degree program administration and advising


Rosemarie Subala, MPH

MPH Program Coordinator
rsubala@ucsd.edu
(858) 534-0699

All aspects of Master in Public Health degree program administration and advising


Bachelor of Science in Public Health (BSPH) Student Affairs Office


Dina Rodgers, MBA

BSPH Program Coordinator
drodgers@ucsd.edu
(858) 534-1012

BS in Public Health degree program administration and advising
Shared roles
   Undergraduate Advising
   Program Administration
   Teaching Faculty Assistance
   Course Enrollment and Waitlist Administration
   Undergraduate Instructional Apprentice (UGIA) Support
   Honors Practicum
DARS Degree Approver
VA Enrollment Approver
Office for Students with Disabilities (OSD) Liaison
Catalog, Curriculum, and eCourse Updates


Residency Programs


Melissa Wahl, MPH

Family Medicine Residency Program Coordinator
mmwahl@ucsd.edu
(619) 543-2165

Program Manager for Family Medicine Residency and Sports Medicine Fellowship Liaison for Combined Family Medicine and Psychiatry Residency and Affiliated Scripps Chula Vista Family Medicine Residency Programs


Melissa Wahl, MPH

Sports Medicine Fellowship Program Coordinator
mmwahl@ucsd.edu
(619) 543-2165

Program Manager for Family Medicine Residency and Sports Medicine Fellowship Liaison for Combined Family Medicine and Psychiatry Residency and Affiliated Scripps Chula Vista Family Medicine Residency Programs


Beatriz Valenzuela-Guzman

Preventive Medicine Residency Program Coordinator
bpvalenz@eng.ucsd.edu
(858) 534-9540

Program Manager for Preventive Medicine Residency Program