Recent News from the Division of EMS & Disaster Medicine

  • Disaster Medical Assistance Team (DMAT CA-4), including DEM faculty member Dr. Chris Kahn, returns from being deployed to Florida for Hurricane Dorian. Click here to see local news coverage.
  • DEM Faculty members Drs. Chris Sloane and Gary Vilke have been selected as the inaugural co-EMS Medical Directors of the North San Diego County Dispatch Joint Powers Authority which includes EMS/Fire agencies for Encinitas, Carlsbad, Oceanside, Rancho Santa Fe, Solana Beach, Vista, and Del Mar.
  • Cal-ACEP Lifeline Magazine features article co-authored by Dr. Jenny Farah on Pertussis. Click here to see magazine. 
  • Dr. Jenny Farah's research in exploring EMS at the Mexican border was picked up by Prehospital Emergency Care journal. Click here to read article. 
  • UC San Diego Health along with the Department of Emergency Medicine and Mount Sinai have announced a framework to promote innovation in EMS led by Emeritus Professor James Dunford who will serve as the project's co-director. To learn more, click here.