Grants and Awards Supporting Research and Innovation in Anesthesiology


The Society for Pediatric Anesthesia offers the Young Investigator Grant for $50,000 for one year, renewable once at the discretion of the Research Grant Committee. Upon review of the all of the submitted proposals, the Committee may distribute one or two $50,000 grants, or may choose to fund one grant for $100,000. The Committee may also choose to reduced the awarded amount or not fund any of the submitted projects for a given calendar year. These grants fund investigating basic science or clinical research questions, innovations in education, or quality and safety projects, including simulation.


The Society for Obstetric Anesthesiology and Perinatology offers several honorary and research awards.

  • SOAP/Gertie Marx Ed/Research Grant will provide a maximum of $100,000 over two years (i.e., usually ~$50,000 per year, although the distribution of funding for each year may vary) to support research in obstetric anesthesia or a closely related area.  Fundable projects may include research in basic physiology, clinical practice, or teaching/training methods. Funding requests will be considered in any amount up to $100,000.
  • SOAP/ Kybele International Outreach Grant provides funding needed to get involved with international outreach projects in order to identify and train future leaders in international outreach from SOAP members. Specifically the grant is designed to encourage research in collaboration with host countries with the goal of enhancing the practice of obstetric anesthesia in those countries.
  • Distinguished Service Award honors a long-standing society member who has made numerous contributions to the Society (i.e., served on the Board of Directors, presented at Annual Meetings, served on Society committees) and has provided exceptional service to the specialty of obstetric anesthesia. In addition the SOAP Board of Directors recognizes the recipient as one who is viewed by the community at large as an exemplary ambassador of obstetric anesthesia.
  • Frederick P. Zuspan Award of $2,000 is given by Perinatal Resources to one recipient annually. The recipient is chosen from a group of potential candidates following presentation of their abstracts at the SOAP annual meeting. Judging for the award is done by a group of SOAP members selected by the Annual Program Committee and approved by the SOAP Board.  Eligibility criteria for the Zuspan award is that at least one co-author of the abstract must be an Obstetrician.
  • Research in Education Award is presented at the annual SOAP meeting to any health care provider (anesthesiologists, fellows, residents, obstetricians, nurses, etc.), who is either a member of SOAP or sponsored by a SOAP member, and awards $500 cash for outstanding abstracts which may focus on the education of medical students, residents, patients, obstetric care providers, or the community.
  • Media Award acknowledges the contribution of a member of the media in furthering public awareness of the important role obstetric anesthesiology plays in the care of the parturient.  All relevant media genres including but not limited to print, radio, television and the internet are eligible.
  • Teacher of the Year Award recognizes outstanding practitioners of obstetric anesthesiology who have demonstrated superior teaching primarily of anesthesiology residents and fellows, and secondarily of obstetricians, nurses, midwives, and the lay public based on the following attributes: clinical teaching, mentoring, and the advancement of obstetric anesthesia outside of our own community.

Regional and Pain

The American Society of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine offers two research grants.

Both the Carl Koller Memorial Research Grant and the Chronic Pain Medicine Research Grant awards up to $100,000 to provide "seed money" for preliminary investigations leading to continued work supported by other sources. This award is not intended, nor should it be used, to supplement ongoing projects; however, supplemental institutional financial support is allowed. Application for the Chronic Pain grant is due in August and the application for the Carl Koller grant is due in November.


The Society for Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists offers two research grants.

  • SCA/IARS Starter Grant - up to $50,000 (up to $25,000 per year for a maximum of two years).
  • SCA/IARS Mid Career Grant - up to $100,000 (up to $50,000 per year for a maximum of two years). The project can be a one year project, with the budget limit of $50,000.


The Society for Neuroscience in Anesthesiology and Critical Care offers two research awards.

  • Best of Neuroscience Award (Abstract) of $500 is presented every year at the IARS meeting.
  • The John D. Michenfelder New Investigator Award is presented annually to the resident, fellow or starting junior faculty whose research exemplifies the Society‚Äôs mission of improving the art and science of neurosurgical anesthesia, and the care of the critically ill, neurologically impaired patient. You must submit an online abstract to be presented at the SNACC meeting to be eligible for this award.

Critical Care

The Society for Critical Care Medicine offers three research grants.

  • The Society's Vision Grant offers up to $50,000 in funding to members conducting basic, translational or clinical research specifically related to the organization's mission to secure the highest quality care for all critically ill and injured patients.
  • The Norma J. Shoemaker Grant awards is given to support the research studies of an SCCM nurse member to encourage research in critical care nursing and to provide funding for the continuation of research endeavors. Funding for the $15,000 grant may be used for a period of up to two years. This award would be ideal for supporting a critical care innovation project that required collaborative effort with nursing.
  • The THRIVE Grant offers up to $50,000 in funding to SCCM members conducting research aimed at improving patient and family support after critical illness. Investigator-initiated research should help advance and improve our understanding of survivorship from critical illness, as well as support and improve the experience of survivors and their families.