Fellowship in Critical Care Anesthesia

Thank you for your interest in the Anesthesiology Critical Care Medicine Fellowship at UCSD. Our goal is to provide our trainees with outstanding clinical experience in the management of all types of critically ill patients, including cardiovascular, general surgical as well as Neuro surgical and medical patients.  We provide our  fellows with the opportunity to become proficient in both transthoracic and transesophageal echocardiography, and encourage obtaining certification in Advanced Perioperative Transesophageal Echocardiography .   

 We hope that you will consider becoming part of our critical care team in “America’s Finest City!” Please don’t hesitate to reach out to learn more about our program.

Kimberly S. Robbins, M.D.
Fellowship Program Director

Current Fellows 2018-2019 

Aziz Almehlisi, MBBS

  • Medical School: King Saud University
  • Residency: George Washington University Department of Emergency Medicine

Phat Dang, MD

  • Medical school: University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health 
  • Residency: Rush University Medical Center

Christopher Dinh, MD

  • Medical School: David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
  • Residency: UCLA Department of Anesthesiology

 Edgardo Dos Santos, MD

  • Medical School : Baylor College of Medicine
  • Residency: UTHealth at McGovern Medical School
 Rachel Mintz-Cole, MD PhD

  • Medical School: University of Cincinnati 
  • Residency: Duke University Hospital in Durham North Carolina

Past Fellows 

 Fellowship Graduation 2018, Pictured left to right: Nate Lowry, MD, Naila Mammadova, MD, Aziz Almehlisi, MD, Jennifer Gastelum, MD

​Where are they now?
​Ronny Barak, M.D.
​UCSD Department of Anesthesiology
​Marlene Barnhouse, M.D. 
​Scripps Hospital, La Jolla, CA
​Henry Chou, M.D.
​UC Irvine Department of Anesthesiology
​Robert Doody, D.O.
​Private Practice Anesthesiology, Connecticut
​Elizabeth Harlan, M.D. 
​Rudd Heart and Lung Center, Louisville, KY
​Benjamin Illum, M.D. 
​Scripps Hospital, La Jolla, CA
​Lauren Knecht, M.D.
​University of Utah Department of Anesthesiology
​Nitesh Mody, D.O. 
​Rush University Department of Anesthesiology
​Tariq Naseem, M.D. 
​Tufts University Department of Anesthesiology
​Albert Nguyen, M.D. 
​UCSD Department of Anesthesiology
​Kimberly Pollock, M.D.
​Staff Anesthesiologist, Temecula Valley Hospital
​Timothy Webb, M.D
​Indiana University Department of Anesthesiology
Jennifer Gastelum, M.D. 
​Anesthesia Services Medical Group, San Diego, CA
​Robert Lowry, M.D.
​St. Joseph’s Medical Center, Santa Rosa, CA
Naila Mammadova, M.D.
University of Utah Echocardiography Fellowship

Eligibility Criteria 

Candidates for admission to University of California, San Diego Anesthesiology Critical Care Fellowship must meet the following criteria:

  • Completion of an ACGME-accredited core Anesthesiology or Emergency Medicine Residency program.
  • Board certification (or eligibility) in Anesthesiology or Emergency Medicine by the ABA or ABEM.
  • Possess (or be eligible for) a California medical license.

    For more information on our two year ABA-ABEM accredited fellowship, please click here

Application Process

The UCSD Anesthesiology Critical Care Medicine Fellowship Program participates in the SF Match's Central Application Service.  Information about this process can be found on the San Francisco Matching Program Website. We are now accepting applications for 2019 Critical Care Anesthesiology Fellowship Match for 2020 positions. 

We have one additional fellowship position available starting July 1, 2019. Please contact Dr. Kimberly Robbins, Fellowship Program Director, for more information.

Application Timetable
November 1, 2018
SF Match Registration Begins: Please note that although registration is open until the rank list deadline, applicants are encouraged to register as early as possible to allow time for application and interviews.
November 1, 2018
​Completed applications will start being reviewed on a rolling process. Your application will not be reviewed until all materials have been received via CAS.
Mid January-Mid April
​UCSD ACCM Interview Period. Interviews will be offered on a rolling basis as applications are reviewed. 
​May 21, 2019
​Rank list submission deadline, 1200 noon PST
​May 28, 2019
​SF Match results released

ACCM Fellowship Contact Information

Julie Nguyen, ACCM Fellowship Coordinator
Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care
University of California, San Diego
200 West Arbor Drive, #8770
San Diego, CA 92103-8770
Phone (619) 543-5720
Fax: (619) 543-6476
Email: Junguyen@ucsd.edu