Disease Team Leaders


Blood and Marrow Transplant

Edward Ball, MD
Leader
Edward D. Ball, MD
Professor of Medicine
858-822-6600
tball@ucsd.edu
   Grace Ku, MD
Associate Leader
Caitlin Costello, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
858-822-6600

Breast

Anne Wallace, MD Leader
Anne Wallace, MD
Professor of Clinical Surgery
858-822-6193
amwallace@ucsd.edu
Richard Schwab, MD

Associate Leader
Richard Schwab, MD
Associate Clinical Professor of Medicine
858-822-0442
rschwab@ucsd.edu

Central Nervous System

David Piccioni, MD, PhD Leader
David Piccioni, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Neuroscience
858-822-6346
dpiccioni@ucsd.edu
Jona Hattangadi-Gluth, MD

Associate Leader
Jona Hattangadi-Gluth
Assistant Professor of Radiation Medicine
858-534-1222
jhattangadi-gluth@ucsd.edu

Colorectal Cancer

Lisa Parry, MD Leader
Lisa Parry
Professor of Surgery
858-822-0949
lparry@ucsd.edu
   James Murphy, MD, MS

Associate Leader
James Murphy, MD, MS
Assistant Professor of Radiation Medicine
858-534-3508
j2murphy@ucsd.edu

Cutaneous Oncology / Sarcoma

Gregory Daniels, MD Leader
Gregory A. Daniels, MD, PhD
Clinical Professor of Medicine
858-534-3804
gdaniels@ucsd.edu
  Associate Leader
Joel M. Baumgartner, MD
Assistant Professor of Surgery
858-534-1301
j1baumgartner@ucsd.edu

Experimental Therapeutics

Razelle Kurzrock, MD Leader
Razelle Kurzrock, MD
Professor of Medicine
858-822-6809
rkurzrock@ucsd.edu
   Sandip Patel, MDAssociate Leader
Sandip Patel, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
858-822-2372
spatel@ucsd.edu

Gastrointestinal

Andrew Lowy, MD Leader
Andrew M. Lowy, MD, FACS
Professor of Surgery
858-822-2124
alowy@ucsd.edu
 
Paul Fanta, MD, MS Associate Leader
Paul T. Fanta, MD, MS
Associate Clinical Professor
of Medicine
858-822-7973
pfanta@ucsd.edu
James Murphy, MD, MS Associate Leader
James Murphy, MD, MS
Associate Professor of Radiation Medicine and Applied Sciences
858-534-3508
j2murphy@ucsd.edu

Genitourinary

Karim Kader, MD, PhD
Leader
A. Karim Kader, MD, PhD
Clinical Professor of Surgery
858-822-7874
kkader@ucsd.edu  
 
Rana Mckay, MD Associate Leader
Rana Mckay, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
858-822-2372
rmckay@ucsd.edu

Gynecology

Michael McHale, MD Leader
Michael McHale, MD
Professor of OBGYN
858-246-1187
mtmchale@ucsd.edu
Jyoti Mayadev, MD

Associate Leader
Jyoti Mayadev, MD
Associate Professor of Radiation Medicine and Applied Sciences
858-246-2051
jmayadev@ucsd.edu

Head & Neck / Melanoma

Ezra Cohen, MD Leader
Ezra Cohen, MD, FRCPSC FASCO
Professor of Medicine
858-822-5800
ecohen@ucsd.edu
Loren Mell, MDAssociate Leader
Loren Mell, MD
Associate Professor of Radiation Medicine and Applied Science
858-246-0471
lmell@ucsd.edu

Hematology

Thomas J. Kipps, MD, PhD Leader
Rafael Bejar, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor in Residence
858-534-5204
rabejar@ucsd.edu
  Erin Reid, MD Associate Leader
Erin G. Reid, MD
Clinical Professor of Medicine
858-822-6276
egreid@ucsd.edu
Parag Sanghvi, MD Associate Leader
Parag Sanghvi, MD
Associate Professor of Radiation Medicine and Applied Sciences
858-246-1619
psanghvi@ucsd.edu

Lung

Lyudmila Bazhenova, MD Leader
Lyudmila A. Bazhenova, MD
Clinical Professor of Medicine
858-822-6189
lbazhenova@ucsd.edu
 
Mark Onaitis, MD Associate Leader
Mark Onaitis, MD
Professor of Medicine
858-657-7777
monaitis@ucsd.edu
James Urbanic, MD Associate Leader
James Urbanic, MD
Associate Professor of Radiation Medicine and Applied Sciences
858-246-0500
jurbanic@ucsd.edu

Palliative / Pain Care

William Mitchell, MD Leader
William Mitchell, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
858-822-6280
wmmitchell@ucsd.edu

Pediatrics

William D. Roberts, MD Leader
William Roberts, MD
Clinical Professor of Pediatrics 
858-966-5811
wiroberts@ucsd.edu
           
Peter Zage, MD, PhD

Associate Leader 
Peter Zage, MD, PhD
Associate Professor-in-Residence
858-534-6494
pzage@ucsd.edu

Psychosocial / Psychiatry

Maria Tiamson-Kassab, MD Leader
Maria Tiamson-Kassab, MD
Associate Clinical
Professor of Psychiatry
858-822-0076
mtiamsonkassab@ucsd.edu
     Jeremy Hirst, MD

Associate Leader 
Jeremy Hirst, MD
Associate Clinical
Professor of Psychiatry
858-822-5381
jhirst@ucsd.edu