COVID-19 Updates

Visit UC San Diego's Coronavirus portal for the latest information for the campus community.

Summer Aging Immersion

This summer has been busy at the UC San Diego Center for Healthy Aging, with our Medical Student Training in Aging Research (MSTAR) Program in full swing. 

Funded by the National Institute on Aging, this unique program hosts students from UC San Diego and all over the country to perform aging-related research under a mentorship of a faculty mentor.

This year's research projects are vast and include topics such as Alzheimer's Disease and stem cell research, sleep issues, cannabis use in older adults, cognition in cancer patients, and using AI technology to support healthy aging.

In addition, our students take part in many online clinical and research workshops on research ethics, health disparities, geriatric assessment, diversity, and treating dementia, among many others. 

There is a shortage of health-care providers who specialize in geriatrics. With an insufficient number of specialists in aging, along with the need for more individuals to pursue research careers, the MSTAR Program, funded by the National Institute on Aging (NIA), is one step being taken to address this shortage. 

Many of our past trainees from the first cohorts continue training as geriatricians and geriatric psychiatrists. We look forward to following this year's students over time to see just where they end up on their career path.

Congratulations to trainees who participate in the MSTAR program this summer and a big thank you to the dedicated mentors and instructors who volunteered their valuable time!

MSTAR Students
Paola Alicea
Jessica Amalraj
Abigail Conroy
Suma Gudipati
Austin Haynesworth
Leah Howitt
Rebecca Kuan
Sakthi Kumar
Jason Leddy
Danny Lee
Nihal Satyadev
Isabelle Velloze
Jimmy Yu
​MSTAR Mentors
Dilip Jeste, MD (Co-PI)
Alison Moore, MD, MPH (Co-PI)
Joel M. Baumgartner, MD
Todd Gilmer, PhD
Benjamin Han, MD
Jona Hattangadi-Gluth, MD
Maile Karris, MD
Biren Kamdar, MD, MPH
Ellen Lee, MD
Brent Mausbach, PhD
Raeanne Moore, PhD
Robert Rissman, PhD
Subhojit Roy, MD, PhD