COVID-19 Updates

Visit UC San Diego's Coronavirus portal for the latest information for the campus community.

Ravindra L Mehta MD, FACP, FASN, FRCP

Dr. Mehta

Professor Emeritus of Medicine, Department of Medicine,

UCSD Medical Center 0892
9500 Gilman Drive
La Jolla, CA 92037

Tel 858-246-2134
Fax 858-246-2088,

Dr. Mehta is a Professor Emeritus of Medicine in the Department of Medicine at University of California San Diego where he directs the UCSD Masters in Clinical Research Program.

He is an internationally recognized expert in the field of acute kidney injury (AKI). He holds a patent for “Continuous Hemodialysis Using Citrate”.

He chairs the annual International CRRT Conference in San Diego that is now in its 23rd year. He chaired the International Society of Nephrology (ISN) Committee on AKI, is a founding member of the Acute Dialysis Quality Initiative (ADQI) and the Acute Kidney Injury network (AKIN).

His research has informed the development of the RIFLE and AKIN diagnostic and staging criteria for AKI and development of KDIGO guidelines for AKI.

He has been recognized as one of the Best Doctors in San Diego and the US for several years. In 2008 he was recognized by the American Nephrologists of Indian Origin and in March 2009 he was elected as a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians in the UK.

He received the ISN Bywaters Award for lifetime achievement in AKI in April 2011. He has most recently been appointed as the Director of the ISN 0by25 initiative to eliminate preventable deaths from AKI by 2025.

He has trained over 50 post-doctoral fellows, of whom 17 have carried out their research projects with him. He received the M.B.B.S. degree (1976) from the Government Medical School in Amritsar, India, and the M.D. (1979) and D.M. (1981) degrees from the Post Graduate Institute of Medical Education and Research in Chandigarh, India.

He subsequently completed a nephrology fellowship at the University of Rochester in Rochester New York and obtained his boards in Internal Medicine (1986) and Nephrology (1988). He has been on the faculty at San Diego since 1988.


Back to Contact List