COVID-19 Updates

Visit UC San Diego's Coronavirus portal for the latest information for the campus community.

UC San Diego DISC Community

We are grateful for our DISC Community of Members, Investigators & Partners. We invite you to get to know our community below.


DISC Investigators


First
​Last
​Email
Areas of Practice
Matthew
Aalsma
maalsma@iu.edu
Addiction, Bioinformatics, Health Services Research, Pediatrics, Psychiatry/Mental Health, Public Health, Substance Use, Behavioral Health, Criminal Justice, Adolescents
Gregory
Aarons
​gaarons@health.ucsd.edu
Global Health, Health Policy, Health Promotion (including nutrition, physical activity and obesity), Health Services Research, Psychiatry/Mental Health, Public Health, Substance Use
Natacha
Akshoomoff
​nakshoomoff@health.ucsd.edu
​Autism, Maternal and Child Health, Pediatrics, Psychiatry/Mental Health
Wael
​Al-Delaimy
​wael@health.ucsd.edu
​Environmental Health, Global Health, Psychiatry/Mental Health, Public Health, Tobacco, Climate
Tala
Al-Rousan
​talrousan@health.ucsd.edu
​Aging, Global Health, Health Promotion (including nutrition,  physical activity and obesity), Public Health
Heather
Angier
​angierh@ohsu.edu
Health Policy, Health Services Research, Maternal and Child Health, Public Health
Robert
Anthenelli
​ranthenelli@health.ucsd.edu
​Psychiatry/Mental Health, Substance Use, Tobacco
Elva
Arredondo
​earredon@sdsu.edu
​Aging, Health Promotion (including nutrition,  physical activity and obesity), Health Services Research, Public Health
Miya
Barnett
​mbarnett@ucsb.edu
​Global Health, Health Services Research, Pediatrics, Psychiatry/Mental Health
Sarabeth
​Broder-Fingert
​Sarabeth.Broder-Fingert@bmc.org
​Autism, Health Promotion (including nutrition,  physical activity and obesity), Health Services Research, Maternal and Child Health, Pediatrics, Psychiatry/Mental Health, Public Health
Lauren
Brookman-Frazee
​lbrookman@health.ucsd.edu
​Autism, Psychiatry/Mental Health
​Alan
Card
alcard@ucsd.edu
​Global Health, Health Policy, Health Promotion (including nutrition, physical activity and obesity), Health Services Research, Pediatrics, Public Health, Sleep, Healthcare Quality & Safety, Burnout, Organizational Change
Morgen
​Chalmiers
​morgen.chalmiers@gmail.com
​Global Health, Health Policy, Maternal and Child Health, Psychiatry/Mental Health, Public Health, Reproductive Medicine
Colin
Depp
cdepp@ucsd.edu
​Aging, Health Services Research, Psychiatry/Mental Health
Kelsey
Dickson
​kdickson@sdsu.edu
​Autism, Health Services Research, Psychiatry/Mental Health
Parambir
Dulai
​Pdulai@health.ucsd.edu
​Bioinformatics, Health Economics, Health Services Research, Inflammatory Bowel Disease
Jessica
Elia
​jessica_elia@me.com
​Aging, Environmental Health, Health Economics, Health Promotion (including nutrition, physical activity and obesity), Health Services Research, Physical Rehabilitation, perioperative, immunology,  gastroenterology
Mark
Ettenhofer
​mettenhofer@ucsd.edu
​Aging, Psychiatry/Mental Health
Danielle
Fettes
​dfettes@health.ucsd.edu
​Health Services Research, Psychiatry/Mental Health
Karen
Fortuna
karen.l.fortuna@dartmouth.edu
Aging, Health Promotion (including nutrition, physical activity and obesity), Health Services Research, Psychiatry/Mental Health, Social Work, Mobile Health, Digital Peer Support, Community Engagement, Older Adults
Maryam
Gholami
​mgholami@health.ucsd.edu
​Aging, Health Promotion (including nutrition,  physical activity and obesity), Health Services Research, Psychiatry/Mental Health, Public Health, Tobacco, Cancer Prevention
Rachel
Haine-Schlagel
​rhaine@sdsu.edu
​Autism, Health Services Research, Psychiatry/Mental Health
Syed Usman
Hamdani
syedusmanhamdani@gmail.com
Psychiatry/Mental Health, Global Mental Health, Children & Adolescents, Task-Shifting, Trans-Diagnostic Interventions, Health Applications of Technology, Scaling Up Mental Health Services in Low Resource settings
Eric
Hekler
​ehekler@ucsd.edu
​Aging, Bioinformatics, Environmental Health, Health Promotion (including nutrition,  physical activity and obesity), Psychiatry/Mental Health, Public Health, Sleep
Samantha
Hurst
​shurst@ucsd.edu
​Health Promotion (including nutrition, physical activity and obesity), Health Services Research, Maternal and Child Health, Oncology, Public Health, Tobacco
Allison
Jobin
​ajobin@health.ucsd.edu
​Autism, Psychiatry/Mental Health
Bonnie
Kaiser
​bnkaiser@ucsd.edu
​Global Health, Psychiatry/Mental Health, Public Health
Bo-Kyung (Elizabeth)
Kim
​bkelizak@usc.edu
​Health Services Research, Social Work, Juvenile Justice, Mental, Emotional, Behavioral Health, School-to-Prison Pipeline, Services Research, Quantitative Methods, Trauma and Resilience
Gwendolyn
Lawson
​lawsong@email.chop.edu
​Psychiatry/Mental Health, Children, School, ADHD, Socioeconomic Status, Teacher Consultation, Behavioral Interventions, Implementation
Daisy
Le
​daisyle@gwu.edu
​Cancer prevention and control, Bioinformatics, Global Health, Health Promotion (including nutrition, physical activity and obesity), HIV, Maternal and Child Health, Oncology, Psychiatry/Mental Health, Public Health, Social Work, Substance Use, Tobacco
Rebecca
Lengnick-Hall
​rlengnick-hall@wustl.edu
​Health Services Research, Psychiatry/Mental Health, Social Work, Organizations, Bridging Factors, Qualitative Methods
Teresa
Lind
​telind@ucsd.edu
​Pediatrics, Psychiatry/Mental Health
Laurie
Lindamer
​llindamer@health.ucsd.edu
​Psychiatry/Mental Health
Sarah
Linke
​slinke@health.ucsd.edu
​Health Promotion (including nutrition, physical activity and obesity), Health Services Research, Psychiatry/Mental Health, Public Health, Substance Use, Tobacco
Kassandra
Martinez
​kamartin@ucsd.edu
​Autism, Health Policy, Health Services Research, Pediatrics, Psychiatry/Mental Health, Public Health
Jessica
Montoya
​jlmontoy@health.ucsd.edu
​Aging, Health Services Research, HIV, Psychiatry/Mental Health, Substance Use
Frances
Nedjat-Haiem
​fnedjathaiem@sdsu.edu
​Aging, Health Services Research, Oncology, Psychiatry/Mental Health, Public Health, Social Work
Jesse
Nodora
​jnodora@ucsd.edu
​Health Promotion (including nutrition, physical activity and obesity), Oncology, Public Health
Barbara
Parry
​Bparry@ucsd.edu
​Aging, Maternal and Child Health, Pediatrics, Psychiatry/Mental Health, Public Health, Reproductive Medicine, Sleep, Effects of covid on peripartum mental health
Monica
​Perrez Jolles
​mjolles@usc.edu
​Health Policy, Health Services Research, Maternal and Child Health, Psychiatry/Mental Health, Public Health, ACEs and trauma informed care
James
Pittman
​jpittman@health.ucsd.edu
​Aging, Health Policy, Health Services Research, Psychiatry/Mental Health, Public Health
Byron
Powell​bjpowell@wustl.edu
Global Health, Health Services Research, Infectious Disease, Psychiatry/Mental Health, Public Health, Social Work, Substance Use, Mental Health Services Research, Child and Adolescent Mental Health, Qualitative Research, Implementation Research & Strategies, Mixed Methods Research, Theories and Frameworks
Borsika
Rabin
barabin@health.ucsd.edu
Public Health, Health Services Research, Health Promotion, Cancer Prevention and Control, Community Engagement
Sally
Rafie
​srafie@ucsd.edu
​Health Services Research, Reproductive Medicine
Sarah
Rojas
​sarahr@fhcsd.org
​HIV, Psychiatry/Mental Health, Substance Use
Cynthia
Schairer
​cschairer@ucsd.edu
​Public Health, Technology, Qualitative Research, Community & Stakeholder Engagement, Public Health, Ethics
Melody
Schiaffino
​mschiaffino@sdsu.edu
​Aging, Bioinformatics, Health Services Research, Oncology
Gregory
Seibert
​grseibert@health.ucsd.edu
​Global Health, Health Promotion (including nutrition, physical activity and obesity), Psychiatry/Mental Health, Addiction
Argentina
Servin
​arservin@ucsd.edu
​Global Health, Health Policy, HIV, Public Health, Reproductive Medicine
David
Sommerfeld
​dsommerfeld@ucsd.edu
​Aging, Global Health, Health Economics, Health Policy, Health Promotion (including nutrition, physical activity and obesity), Health Services Research, Psychiatry/Mental Health, Public Health, Substance Use, Transitional Age Youth
Marisa
Sklar
​masklar@health.ucsd.edu
​Health Policy, Health Services Research, Psychiatry/Mental Health, Integrated Primary Care, Research Design, Psychometrics, Quantitative & Qualitative Methods, Mixed Methods, Quasi-Experimental Design
Dara
Sorkin
​dsorkin@uci.edu
​Aging, Health Promotion (including nutrition, physical activity and obesity), Health Disparities, Social Support, Behavioral Health, Health Promotion, Social Network
Nicole
Stadnick
​nstadnic@health.ucsd.edu
​Autism, Global Health, Health Policy, Health Services Research, Pediatrics, Psychiatry/Mental Health, Public Health
Irene
Su
​hisu@health.ucsd.edu
​Reproductive Medicine
Jessica
Suhrheinrich
​​jsuhrheinrich@sdsu.edu
​Autism, Education
Ming
Tai-Seale
mtaiseale@health.ucsd.edu
Aging, Bioinformatics, Health Economics, Health Policy, Health Promotion (including nutrition,  physical activity and obesity), Health Services Research, Psychiatry/Mental Health
Kiyomi
Tsuyuki
​ktsuyuki@health.ucsd.edu
​Global Health, HIV, Psychiatry/Mental Health, Public Health, Substance Use
Pamela
Valera
​pv181@sph.rutgers.edu
​Cancer prevention and control, Health Promotion (including nutrition, physical activity and obesity), HIV, Social Work, Substance Use, Tobacco, Criminal Justice, Misinformation, COVID-19 
Douglas
Ziedonis
​dziedonis@health.ucsd.edu
​Global Health, Health Promotion (including nutrition, physical activity and obesity), Health Services Research, HIV, Maternal and Child Health, Psychiatry/Mental Health, Public Health, Substance Use, Tobacco
Please Note - The UC San Diego DISC offers two free membership categories: DISC General Member and DISC Investigator. These membership categories represent the individual's preferred level of engagement in DISC services and activities based on their D&I research skills and interests. Both categories are free to join and receive the DISC's core benefits. DISC Investigators have a few additional requirements. Individuals from all disciplines and training backgrounds (undergraduate students through senior researchers or practitioners) are eligible to join. Visit the DISC Membership page for more details.