Advanced Glycobiology

MED 225/CHEM 237/BIOM 222/BGGN 236/CMM 225
Offered every two years. Next Session: Spring Quarter 2020 

Course Director:
Jeffrey Esko
Instructors: Ajit Varki, Kamil Godula, Pascal Gagneux, Mark Fuster, Philip Gordts, Victor Nizet, James Paulson, Hudson Freeze

*Please go to TritonEd for assigned reading, study questions, and presentation materials

Contact

Tracy Gilstrap
Education Coordinator
(858) 882-1378
tgilstrap@ucsd.edu

*if you are off campus and would like access to the course materials please contact Tracy
Advanced elective for upper level undergraduates, graduate, and health sciences students who have taken Introduction to Glycoscience (Chem 142/242) or equivalent experience (with consent of Instructor) and courses in cell biology or biochemistry. This course consists of Socratic style discussions of papers and relevant chapters from Essentials of Glycobiology (3rd edition) with the objective of exploring the structure, metabolism, and function of glycans in biological systems. 

Grading is based on regular attendance, class participation, and a take home written essay on a topical issue in glycobiology.


Selected readings from primary literature and from the textbook Essentials of Glycobiology, 3rd Edition, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press, New York.

Lecture #
Date
Title
Instructor
1
Apr 3, Tues
Overview / discussion/ guidelines
  • Primer on Glycans (Library)
  • Transferases/glycosidases (Writers)
  • carbohydrate binding proteins (Readers)
  • Physiology and pathophysiology
Esko (all instructors)
2
Apr 5, ThurBarriers – The Mucins
Godula (Esko)
3
Apr 10, Tues
Sialic Acids: the outer fringes of the vertebrate glycan forest
Varki (Gagneux)
4
Apr 12, Thur
GAGs and Diversity
Esko (Gordts)
5
Apr 17, Tues
Xenoantigens and Transplantation
Gordts (Gagneux)
6
Apr 19, Thur
CANCELLED CLASS

7Apr 24, Tues
Siglecs and Selectins in Inflammation, Immunity and Beyond
Varki  (Esko)
8Apr 26, ThurTransfusion medicine
Esko (Fuster)
9
May 1, Tues
Microbial pathogenesis - Glycan mimicry and glycosidases
Nizet (Varki)
10
May 3, Thur
HMO, a better health care plan
Gordts (Gagneux)
11
May 8, Tues
Fertilization and Pregnancy
Gagneux  (Varki)
12
May 10, Thur
Evolutionary glycobiology
Gagneux (Esko)
13
May 15, Tues
Influenza and HIV
Paulson (Gagneux)
14
May 17, ThurSimple glycans – O-GlcNAc and AGE
Gordts  (Godula)
15
May 22, Tues
CDG and therapy
Freeze  (Gordts)
16
May 24, Thur
LSD and therapy
Esko  (Varki)
17
May 29, TuesDrugs and Inhibitors
Godula (Gordts)
18
May 31, Thur
Glycoengineering
Godula  (Gordts)
19
June 5, Tues
Glycobiology of cancer
Fuster  (Gordts)
20
June 7, Thur
Bioengergy, material science
Gagneux

June 15, Fri
Final Essays Due