Student Clinicians Ceremony

​Monday, May 9, 2022, 10 AM

UC San Diego SOM Campus 

Medical Education and Telemedicine Building, Lower Auditorium

The UC San Diego Student Clinician’s Ceremony (SCC) is designed to provide guidance, information and support to medical students beginning the clerkship component of their medical education. The SCC is included in a week long transitions program for third year medical students highlighted by faculty mentors and recipients of the Humanism in Medicine Resident Award, sponsored by UC San Diego School of Medicine and the Arnold P. Gold Foundation.

Student Clinicians Ceremony 2021

2018 Student Clinician’s Ceremony Recipients

Pictured above 2019 Recipients


  • Stacy Han, MD, Internal Medicine
  • Aljoharah Alakkas, MD, Neurology
  • Priyanka Patel, MD, Pediatrics
  • Natalie Fettinger, MD, Psychiatry
  • Hanna Burch, MD, Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Lauren Stone, MD, Neurological Surgery


  • Praneet Mylavarapu, MD, Internal Medicine
  • Andrew Hannawi, MD, PhD, Neurology
  • Kristen Garcia, MD, Pediatrics
  • Morrison Steel, MD, Psychiatry
  • Diana Ha, MD, Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Merra Reghunathan, MD, Surgery

2019 Humanism in Medicine Resident Awards

  • Carlos Lago Hernandez, MD, Internal Medicine
  • Anasheh Halabi, MD, PhD, Neurology
  • Kim Vuong, MD, Pediatrics
  • Abigail Clark, MD, Psychiatry
  • Erin Mowers, MD, PhD, Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Arvin Wali, MD, Neurological Surgery

2018 Humanism in Medicine Resident Awards

  • Robert Thomas, MD, PhD, Internal Medicine
  • Katherine Longardner, MD, Neurology
  • Andrew Barber, MD, Pediatrics
  • Andrew Allen, MD, Psychiatry
  • Alaina Bennett, MD, Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Tim Tirrell, MD, PhD, Surgery

2017 Humanism in Medicine Resident Awards

  • Phillip Henderson, MD, Medicine
  • Anasheh Halabi, MD, Neurology
  • Austin Weiss, MD, Pediatrics
  • Yash Josh , MD, PhD, Psychiatry
  • Laura Delcore, MD, Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Michelle Zaldana-Flynn, MD, Surgery

2016 Humanism in Medicine Resident Awards

  • Connie Chace, MD, Medicine
  • Dominic Ferrey, MD, Neurology
  • Jenny Koo, MD, Pediatrics
  • Michael Langley - DeGroot, MD, Psychiatry
  • Kevin Phung, MD, Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Patrick McCarty, MD, Surgery

2015 Humanism in Medicine Resident Awards

  • Jabe Best, MD, Psychiatry
  • Laura Delcore, MD, Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Nathan Gaines, MD, Neurology
  • Lawrence Ma, MD, Pediatrics
  • Tyler Woodell, MD, Medicine
  • Michelle Zaldana-Flynn, MD, Surgery